Family Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is the most horrible casserole my family has ever eaten. Nothing could make it worse. It tastes worse than alpo smells. If you hate your family cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Excellent casserole! By accident, more broccoli fell out of the bag when I was dumping it in but still very good! Also, I used brown rice but next time I will use white and added a dash of S&P. We all love broccoli, chicken and cheese so this was a delicious and filling meal. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My family loved this. I left out the things I knew they wouldn't like (celery, water chestnuts and mushrooms) and added a little cheese whiz to add to the cheesyness. They loved it and I will make again. Will probably put less onion in next time to make it more kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My boyfriend and I really liked this recipe. I took into consideration all the reviewers' suggestions and it came out wonderfully. I added an extra cup of cubed chicken and an extra cup of rice. I used about 2 cups of fresh steamed broccoli and 1 cup of fresh sliced mushrooms. I used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of cream of chicken soup. I left out the water chestnuts and the celery because they just don't do it for me in a casserole. I sauteed the onion and mushrooms then added all the other ingredients, adding shredded Colby cheese only after it was in the baking dish and ready to be baked. Again, I'm very pleased with how this turned out. My only wish is that I had something crunchy to top it off at the end. Maybe French fried onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYNXEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I found this recipe because I had some leftover chicken as well as rice. The only ingredient I didn't have was the celery. It was surprisingly very good! I added garlic pepper spice and some paprika. Great recipe to make use of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Very versatile! The water chestnuts gave it just the texture needed for such a creamy meal. I sauted 8oz. of fresh mushrooms with the onions and celery (no canned mushrooms). And I used two cans of soup and doubled the chicken broth. I also cooked my rice with the remainder of the broth. I added an extra cup of chicken. Since I don't care for frozen veggies, I used fresh broccoli and parboiled it for a moment. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
very good! I added some red pepper and grated carrot for some extra color and used brown rice. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I cooked the onion and celery in chicken broth instead of butter to reduce the fat, and I used cream of broccoli soup, since I didn't have cream of celery. I also left out the mushrooms since I'm allergic. Since some reviewers had said it could be dry, I left the rice out of the casserole and then served it over rice. The celery and water chestnuts gave it just the right amount of crunch, and it was really tasty. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I thought this was a great recipe. It was fast, it was easy, I made it following the exact directions and it turned out great!!! my husband and daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
went over pretty well with my fussy eaters they suggested next time try with frozen peas instead of broccoli,less onion and more chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States