Family Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Very versatile! The water chestnuts gave it just the texture needed for such a creamy meal. I sauted 8oz. of fresh mushrooms with the onions and celery (no canned mushrooms). And I used two cans of soup and doubled the chicken broth. I also cooked my rice with the remainder of the broth. I added an extra cup of chicken. Since I don't care for frozen veggies, I used fresh broccoli and parboiled it for a moment. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
went over pretty well with my fussy eaters they suggested next time try with frozen peas instead of broccoli,less onion and more chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
My family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I have made this on numerous occasions. But I always omit the water chestnuts (not my favorite). I also use fresh mushrooms. There is a lot of prep work involved in this recipe. But it is one of my favorites. Even my 2 year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This was really good. I used fresh mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup, instead of celery and cream of celery soup. I also used left over chickeny chickeny rice that I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
It's great recipe for light and delicious meal! I have made it several time since I discovered it. I always use fresh mushrooms and instead of 2 stalks celery I add 1 small root celery (chopped). And my boyfriend also love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I left out the mushrooms and water chesnuts and I think it did away with a lot of the flavor...it was still pretty good though!! I also sprinkled cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe. My husband hardly ever tries new recipes and I was so excited when he actually said it is now one of his favorites. I shared it with both of our families and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is very good! Not having cream of celery soup I used cream of broccoli instead. I also used a small package of frozen chopped broccoli as well as about 2 cups of another frozen vegetable mix - carrots, green beans & corn. I topped it with cracker crumbs and it was really good - definitely something that you can work with using ingredients you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was a great recipe. It was easy to make and fed my hungry family twice. It took longer to make than I expected though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States