Family Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Boring. I made this with a few substitutes - had to use mixed veggies instead of broccoli, used one can cream of mushroom and one can cream of celery instead of the only one can of soup called for in the recipe, and used a corn flake topping moistened with some margarine. First of all, I cannot imagine making this with only one can of soup - it would have been much too dry. I had to also use much more cheese than the recipe called for, and it still was not enough. I just wasn't a fan of this recipe. My kids and husband thought it was ok, but I will not be making it again. I was looking for something to do with some leftover chicken when I came across this recipe, but it was just boring. It was sort of like chicken a la king all mixed together. I guess I just don't agree with the high ratings the other reviewers have given this recipe. By no means am I picky or a gourmet, but I still was just not a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Sorry, but this was not a winner in our house. It seemed to need more rice & soup, and less broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
very good! I added some red pepper and grated carrot for some extra color and used brown rice. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Great kid-friendly taste, and easy to make, to boot! Can eliminate the water chestnuts if you don't have them... celery (which is also called for) is often a substitute for water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was good for a one-pot dish. It does take some preparation, between pre-cooking the chicken and the rice, so it would work well if you have leftovers to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Excellent dish! Very colorful! As usual, I made a few changes. Omitted the step of sauteeing in butter (omitted it entirely to save fat and calories) and sauteed in a little water flavored with Butter Buds. Also, added 1/2 of a green pepper - chopped for extra color and another flavor. Used cream of mushroom instead of celery soup as there was already quite a bit of celery in the dish. Added a jar of well-drained pimientos for more color (made a big difference in eye appeal). Added 1/2 tsp. of Mrs. Dash which I love and used cheese that had only 50% fat. Topped it off with fresh soft bread crumbs moistened with a little heart-healthy margariine. Thanks, Sherry for sharing your family's recipe. Maybe the next person to inherit it will add pimientos!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made this tonight and loved it. I'm snowed in (which is unusual in the south) so omitted and substituted as follows: no onions, no celery, cream of mushroom instead of cream of celery soup, no water chestnuts. We also were super hungry and not making any sides to go along with this so we added a full pound of chicken, 3 cups of rice, and approximately 1/3 cup chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully, we wouldn't change ANYTHING!!! Thanks SO much for this recipe, we will DEFINITELY make this again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My family really liked this recipe, although I did not - too bland - needs more seasoning. I will cook again since my family ate alot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I cooked the onion and celery in chicken broth instead of butter to reduce the fat, and I used cream of broccoli soup, since I didn't have cream of celery. I also left out the mushrooms since I'm allergic. Since some reviewers had said it could be dry, I left the rice out of the casserole and then served it over rice. The celery and water chestnuts gave it just the right amount of crunch, and it was really tasty. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My family loved this recipe -- it was very easy and great for a cold evening meal. I added peas rather than broccoli, and used fresh garlic when I cooked the chicken. I also added some pepper and lots of garlic powder for flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States