Family Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My boyfriend and I really liked this recipe. I took into consideration all the reviewers' suggestions and it came out wonderfully. I added an extra cup of cubed chicken and an extra cup of rice. I used about 2 cups of fresh steamed broccoli and 1 cup of fresh sliced mushrooms. I used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of cream of chicken soup. I left out the water chestnuts and the celery because they just don't do it for me in a casserole. I sauteed the onion and mushrooms then added all the other ingredients, adding shredded Colby cheese only after it was in the baking dish and ready to be baked. Again, I'm very pleased with how this turned out. My only wish is that I had something crunchy to top it off at the end. Maybe French fried onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYNXEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This dish was nice, a little bland as is...I used fresh steamed broccoli, and to season it up a little I added a little white pepper and some curry to give it a Thai flair...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My family really enjoyed this, will make it a regular at our house. I used broccoli cheese soup instead of cream of celery and omitted the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I use a very similar recipe by Paula Deen. Love to make this for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Good comfort food. I added 1 tbsp dijon mustard to the casserole before baking as previous readers said it was bland. Hubby & I both enjoyed. Will make again. Would also be great with any cream soup - chicken, broccoli or mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I don't agree with all the rave reviews for this recipe has received. I used one can of cream of celery and one can cream of mushroom (many reviewers agreed the dish was dry) and I can't imagine it with only one can of soup. The taste was very bland and though my husband and I ate the meal we won't be making it again as it didn't have much flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I took the advice of others and added 2 cans of soup (1 cream of celery and 1 cream of mushroom). I also omitted the water chestnuts. My only complaint is that this recipe required quite a bit of prep work. Overall, very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Leftovers were great for lunch. I used leftover rice from Chinese food the night before and it worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Very good, used fresh cooked broccoli and mushrooms. Only change I would make would be to add some almonds for some extra crunch, it would just finish it off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was a pleasant surprise. I wasn't sure how it would all taste together, but it was a hit with both my husband and 7 y.o. We prefer it with a little extra cheese (especially the 7 year old) and next time I will shred the chicken before putting it in the casserole as it seemed a little dry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States