False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I have made a recipe like this for years and my Italian mother did before me, she learned it from dad's mom who was Polish..we always called it sloppy stuffed cabbage and added 1 cup of raw rice when cooking ground beef, onions and garlic..used the condensed tomato soup..it has been a family favorite for over 30 yrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I love stuffed cabbage but didnt make it often due to all the work involved. It is also part of my heritage. This tastes just like my recipe and I make it much more now than I used to. Thanx so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Have made this a couple of times before. Works just as well with ground turkey. Need to add extra spices for more flavour, and cook it a little longer than the instructions say if you want tender cabbage. It's also nice to mix some cooked rice right in to the dish before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
It was so easy!! I added some extras to the meat (eggs, garlic powder and cooked white rice) and combined ground pork and ground beef because I wanted to use some leftovers. It still turned out better than the "real" cabbage rolls I made. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My mother made this for us growing up. I am sure it had a few add-ins but it was good then like it is now. I do add some rice to mine for a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This meal was excellent! Using the recipe for 6 servings, I did change a few things, I used 15oz can of tomato sauce, a 15oz can of water, and a 8oz can of Pizza sauce. A teaspoon of Italian seasoning and 1 bay leaf. I added precooked brown rice the last 10 minutes. I skipped the sour cream. My husband cleaned his plate and agreed that it was the greatest "comfort food" that we've had in a long time. I made it in a electric skillet and it took about 45 minutes for the cabbage to cook. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I had some leftover ground pork that I needed to use and I so happened to have both cabbage and tomato soup also so I made this and I LOVE it!!! I kinda think it's like cabbage chili; very hearty and delicious! I only had one tomato soup so I also used diced tomatoes. I also seasoned w/ Italian seasoning and a little bit of chicken bouillon. I served this over some wild rice, Parmesan cheese, and sour cream. Next time I will skip the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I make it almost weekly even though I'm the only one in the house who will touch it. I add whatever left over meat I happen to have from dinners (like today when I used left over taco meat). I usually use egg noodles or elbow macaroni, and I add extra soup because I like mine soup consistency. Whatever you do, don't skip the sour cream. It really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Am giving this recipe 5 starts! it was so simple that my 9 year old son was the one to prepared it! Not only that, but is was so cheap and child friendly! my children love it! I do must say... we did added a pinch of garlic and a pinch of "complete seasoning"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
We didn't like this one at all :( It ended up a sloppy mess and very unappetising. The cabbage and tomato combination just doesn't do it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States