False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I love cabbage rolls but not the work so, that being said, I like this recipe very much. A couple of things . . . I doubled the meat and the tomato soup, did not use the sour cream. Without doubling the meat, it was too much like soup. The only real problem is that the cabbage takes much longer to cook than the recipe calls for - it took at least an hour of simmering to get the cabbage tender enough. All-in-all, a very easy and tasty recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Right up my alley! This was awesome with some alterations. I used a can of tomatoes instead of one of the cans of tomato soup. I also added a can of tomato paste flavored with basil, oregano and garlic. I used four, chopped garlic cloves to flavor the beef, along with a helping of basil and oregano. This was awesome. I love cabbage (cooked), period... Sour cream is another favorite of mine. OUTSTANDING! Couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This is good but I have one that likes the meat and doesn't like the cabbage. To keep her happy I make little meatballs and cook them in the oven Then go from there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My family makes cabbage rolls about once a year because it's so time consuming. I tried this recipe and thought it was a great substitute for regular cabbage rolls. It was very easy to make and really good. The only thing I changed was that I didn't use tomato soup, I substituted tomato sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
i couldn't believe how fast & easy this recipe was. tasted great! i added cooked brown rice in at the end. also added some chopped garlic with the onions and a big splash of burgandy with the tomato soup. my husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I made this recipe and the only thing I added was baking time. I placed it in a baking dish and baked it in the oven for 30 minutes. It was a yummy way to eat the time consuming original cabbage rolls with less work. It also reheats real well. Put into individual servings and freeze them. VOILA! Lunch on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
My husband did not like this because it seemed a little too much like soup. I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I made a recipe of regular cabbage rolls, but ran out of usable leaves...so I made this with the left over unleafable cabbage and leftover filling. My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I would make this dish next time a day ahead. The first day I didn't like it at all but the next day reheated it tasted much better. I had to add a ton of salt to the dish it was just too sweet for my taste. Being from Germany I am used to it tasting kind of sweet-sour. I also try to add vinegar to unsweet it. I would add wine sauerkraut instead of raw cabbage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was an easy and hearty recipe. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger and lots of garlic. I substitued pearl barley for half the rice. I sliced half the cabbage finely and sliced the other half more coarsly in my food processor. The larger slices had a nice crunch and sweetness to them. I used only one can of tomato soup and added one can of muir glen roasted diced tomatos. I froze half the recipe in smaller containers for later. Sour cream was not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States