False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This really didn't sound that good to me but boy was I wrong. You can do so many variations with this too. It kind of reminded me of a stuffed pepper. I think adding some green pepper would be good with this. My husband had 3 helpings. What does that say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was good, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I thought this was quite good. I did not add the sour cream, just had that as a garnish. I cooked some long grain white rice and added it to the pot. Tastes like a cabbage roll without the hassle of making them. This recipe makes a LOT. If you are a family of two, you'll be eating it for days. It is good though, so you might not mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Good Recipe however I did want it a little thicker so I added another can of water and then 2 cups brown rice and let it simmer for about 45 min. Wonderful dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Such memories this brought back. I don't know if it was that memory or the taste that made me love this recipe. I did the recipe as stated except I found that garlic salt was much better than salt. I also put white rice in the bowl before the mixture for serving. I think you could just add it to the pot.. cooked rice, that is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My husband loved this! I didn't have tomato soup so I substituted a can of cream of mushroom soup and a can of diced tomatoes. This is one recipe I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is a great basic recipe. I am a big fan of bold flavors, so I agree with some other posts that this is a little bland as is. However, the recipe is a great foundation and lends itself well to a bit of creativity with herbs and spices that suite your interest. I have spiced it up with Italian, Mexican and Greek spices and all worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was a good and easy meal! We love cabbage rolls and this was just as good but without all the fuss. I didn't have the tomatoe soup, so I substituted with a couple of cans of tomatoe sauce and can of diced tomatoes....Since I didn't have the thickness from the tomatoe soup, I reduced the amount of water to 1/2 cup and used 1/4 cup chicken broth for flavor! Thanks for the recipe! We all enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My hubby loved this! I made a few changes to use what I had on hand. I used a frozen 1-lb. roll of italian turkey saugage in place of hamburger and nappa caggage instead of green cabbage. I added a pinch of dill and thyme. Served it over rice - - delicious! It's so quick and easy I'll definitely use cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ameland, Fryslân, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
just okay...I like recipes with lots of spices and flavor, so it was kind of bland for me. everyone is different though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Petersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States