False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Emily doesn't like this. It tastes a lot like goolash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Eeyore
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
What a GREAT idea! I've been making cabbage rolls for years, but never thought to make them this way. It's sooooo much easier!.... I made a few changes to the recipe and it came out tasting almost exactly like my regular cabbage rolls. Here are the changes I made: I used 1-1/2 pounds of ground beef to make it a little meatier. I used 1 (15.2 oz "value size") can of tomato soup, 1 (15 oz) can of tomato sauce and NO water. I also added a can of drained diced tomatoes. I boiled the sliced cabbage for about 5 minutes before adding it to the meat/onion/tomato mixture to help speed up the cooking time (and to help it all fit in my electric skillet). For seasonings I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I didn't add the sour cream. I had some leftover cooked rice in the fridge, so right before serving I stirred in about a cup of that and heated it through. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was very good. I made a couple of changes based on what I had and other reviews. I had spaghetti sauce to use up so I used that rather than tomato soup. I also added two cans of diced tomatoes. Next time I will use the tomato soup along with at least two cans of diced tomatos. I used ground turkey and next time I will use 2lbs of ground turkey or1lb ground turkey & 1lb ground sausage. I thought more meat was needed but that could be because of extra ingredients I added. Along with browning the ground turkey I added minced garlic and diced green pepper. Spices I added were garlic powder, parsley, oregano, salt, pepper, fennel and crushed red peppers. After the cabbage was fully cooked I added cooked brown rice. I used the sour cream but I am not sure what it really added to the overall taste so next time I will leave it out. Sprinkled parmesan cheese on top before serving. I wasn't sure what my husband would think of this but he really liked it and got seconds. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very very good and easy option to traditional cabbage rolls. HOWEVER, to really wow this up, add your fave steak seasoning spice to the beef, and add chopped bacon when beef is almost fully browned (you want the bacon cooked but not crispy). Follow all other directions fully, but add 2T lemon juice and 1T brown sugar. And lotsa pepper for some heat. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just made this for New Years lunch. Great, easy recipe. I substituted a can of tomato sauce for one of the cans of soup, added Italian seasoning, garlic salt and a pinch of oregano as it simmered, and then served it in a bowl over rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I made this last night. I added a a 8 oz can tomato sauce, salt free and a 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I liked it but it was really good when I added the sour cream. My son, whos picky about cabbage, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtnNanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Really good!! Used 1/2 turkey & 1/2 beef. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was much easier than making cabbage rolls and tasted pretty close to the real thing...aka..my grandmother's! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I also made a side of white rice since my grandma's has rice added into her cabbage rolls. I put the white rice in the bottom of a soup bowl and put the cabbage mixture on top. I think I will add a bit of garlic next time, but otherwise wouldn't change a thing! Great alternative to cabbage rolls when you don't want to do all the work. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Like others I seasoned to our taste. Also, to speed things up I nuked the cabbage for about 10 minutes before adding it to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was alright but I added an extra can of diced tomatoes & a can of tomato sauce 8oz, to that I added 3 TbSP of brown sugar, 2 TBSP worcheshire sauce, & 3 tsp lemon juice came out more like real cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States