False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
It's simple and easy. I did not use the sour cream and it wasn't missed. Instead of undigestable black pepper, I used a smigion of cayenne' for a little "Heat".We served it over white rice. A huge frying pan to make it in is needed. For a side dish I made Isblessed, " Green Beans for a special occasion", which is made with garlic and pine-nuts. My family loved the entire dinner, it was healthy,filling,and very colorful. Thank You for these wonderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I quit making cabbage rolls because I thought they were too much work. This recipe was excellent! I did however omit the sour cream (not the way Grandma made them) and added a clove of crushed garic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This recipe is a real keeper!! Why would I spend time doing rolls, when this dish is every bit as good, thanks Carolyn T. My biggest problem is deciding what to do with all the time I saved making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This was delicious. I love stuffed cabbage but it does take a long time to work. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made my own modifications to this dish. First of all, after draining the beef/onion mix, I added the cabbage to the pan w/the beef onion mix and fried it for a few minutes before adding the tomato soup. Then, instead of the 2 cans of regular tomato soup I added 1 can of tomato w/rice soup and 1 can of roasted garlic tomato paste w/only 1 tomato paste can of water and finished cooking it. This made it thick, not soupy, which I like better. I didn't add the sour cream, I think it's great w/o it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This tasted great until I added the sour cream. Next time I'll leave that out. Had to add a few spices and I added one beef boulion cube. Son wouldn't eat it.......husband liked it ok, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is a GREAT substitute for cabbage rolls! I added three cloves of garlic, chopped. Also, the recipe is unclear about the amount of water. I added two soup cans, and had to thicken with cornstarch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This was a lot easier to make then the real cabbage rolls. I didn't use the soup, instead I used tomato paste and 2 cups of water. I also used a cup of sour kraut. I kind of made it like lasagna. I put the cabbage on the bottom sour kraut on top of that then the meat mixture then the tomato paste on top of that and then put sliced kilbasa on top. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
taste as good as my home made recipe that I stuff the cabbage leaves but so much easier & faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States