False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I am looking for recipes that will help me get rid of the food in my fridge since I will be moving in 2 weeks. I came across this and since it looked promising and not too difficult, I made it tonight. I really enjoyed it except that it was a little bland, but still pretty good! I used to cloves garlic, less oil, and a 32 oz. bottle of tomato soup I had, I used half a can of tomato paste to thicken and some basil, oregano, spike seasoning, some worchestershire sauce, I added the water with some beef boullion, and a little brown sugar. I think i will stick with less soup and add diced tomatoes next time, but overall it was nice and thick and has a really good flavor, but I tend to like dishes with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This turned out quite well. I did change a few things. I took heed of others advice....I added 1 can of tomato sauce, omitted 1 can of soup. I added seasoning..it needed it, I think.(Basil, oregano, garlic). I also did NOT add the sour cream. I didn't think it needed it. I also added one small can of tomato paste. My kids, both of whom had never eaten cabbage before, said they loved it. So, that is a good sign!!! I will make this again. The pot was huge...I had enough for leftovers!!!! Wooooohooooooo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
This was a little bland when I tasted it during cooking. After I added an extra can of water, a small can of tomato sauce, 2 Tbsps. of lemon juice & about a Tbsp. of Splenda, it was more interesting. The consistency was more like a cabbage soup, which I liked. I added a little sour cream to a small plate of the dish as a taste test & I liked it better without the sour cream. Different strokes for different folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
We doubled this recipe since there are 6 of us and found out quickly that we didn't need to as that made a lot! We did as others suggested and did half the tomato soup and the other half was tomato sauce. We also made the rice in with the dish, and added a few spices (Italian seasoning, parsley, etc). The rice was brown rice and it took a long time for it to get soft, and for the cabbage to soften - probably about an hour. It was starting to burn at the bottom of the pot because I wasn't stirring well enough so definitely need to watch that too. We'll make again, for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This was really good, and easy to make, will make it again, my husband liked it, and he doesn't much like cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oaksfan
Living In: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This recipe was very quick & easy.My family loved it. I changed the recipe slightly using suggestions from other reviews.I only used 1 can of tomato soup,added 1 small can of tomato sauce (I found a sauce with basil,garlic & oregano included)& added rice to the pot. I will try to cut the recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
My husband loved this recipe. He said it tasted like his mom's cabbage rolls (with a lot less work). Instead of serving with rice I added the rice to the recipe and used tomato sauce instead of soup. I also increased the sauce a little since I added the rice. My family has asked for this again already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I did not have ground beef but used premade meat balls instead. It was good, not quite like cabbage rolls but still a good dish. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
this recipe was so easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
My family loved this and I liked it because it was quick and inexpensive, but it made alot. My husband doesn't really like sour cream, so I used a can of cream of mushroom soup instead. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States