False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I made this recipe and made a few additions. I added uncooked rice. I used ground pork and ground turkey instead of the beef. I did not add the sour cream but rather tomatoe juice and cooked it in my slow cooker for 6 hours. It almost tasted like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This is good. I think next time I will add some rice it was a little too saucy for me. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Very good comfort food. I used a can of italian tomatoes in place of a can of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
too bland for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Very delicious and 4 year old liked it too! Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Very fast and easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I too modified this recipe and actually got an idea or two from another allrecipe entry "Cabbage Jambalaya." Along with the onion and meat, I added two chopped garlic cloves. I used one can of tomato soup and 1 can of tomato sauce that had the Italian spices in it. In addition, I put in about 1/2 teaspoon each of Italian seasons, basil and oregano. I also added one cup of minute rice when I added in the tomatoes. With these changes we had a most excellent meal--both my husband and daughter went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This was much easier than making cabbage rolls and tasted pretty close to the real thing. I also used one can of diced tomatoes instead of one of the cans of soup. I put white rice in the bottom of a soup bowl and put the cabbage mixture on top. We also sprinkled with parm cheese. The next day for lunch we mixed the rice and cabbage mixture together and re-heated...even better the next day! Great alternative to cabbage rolls when you don't want to do all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I've tried this both with and without the tomato sauce, and it's better with. Not as good as actual cabbage rolls, but good, and a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I made this today, and loved it. I'm counting points and this is a great low-fat recipe. I used 93% lean, added italian seasoning, used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, one can of soup and substituted the sour cream for non-fat yogurt. Again, this turned out great, but it does take at least an hour to soften the cabbage. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States