False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I have made a recipe like this for years and my Italian mother did before me, she learned it from dad's mom who was Polish..we always called it sloppy stuffed cabbage and added 1 cup of raw rice when cooking ground beef, onions and garlic..used the condensed tomato soup..it has been a family favorite for over 30 yrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I love stuffed cabbage but didnt make it often due to all the work involved. It is also part of my heritage. This tastes just like my recipe and I make it much more now than I used to. Thanx so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Have made this a couple of times before. Works just as well with ground turkey. Need to add extra spices for more flavour, and cook it a little longer than the instructions say if you want tender cabbage. It's also nice to mix some cooked rice right in to the dish before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
It was so easy!! I added some extras to the meat (eggs, garlic powder and cooked white rice) and combined ground pork and ground beef because I wanted to use some leftovers. It still turned out better than the "real" cabbage rolls I made. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My mother made this for us growing up. I am sure it had a few add-ins but it was good then like it is now. I do add some rice to mine for a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This meal was excellent! Using the recipe for 6 servings, I did change a few things, I used 15oz can of tomato sauce, a 15oz can of water, and a 8oz can of Pizza sauce. A teaspoon of Italian seasoning and 1 bay leaf. I added precooked brown rice the last 10 minutes. I skipped the sour cream. My husband cleaned his plate and agreed that it was the greatest "comfort food" that we've had in a long time. I made it in a electric skillet and it took about 45 minutes for the cabbage to cook. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I had some leftover ground pork that I needed to use and I so happened to have both cabbage and tomato soup also so I made this and I LOVE it!!! I kinda think it's like cabbage chili; very hearty and delicious! I only had one tomato soup so I also used diced tomatoes. I also seasoned w/ Italian seasoning and a little bit of chicken bouillon. I served this over some wild rice, Parmesan cheese, and sour cream. Next time I will skip the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I make it almost weekly even though I'm the only one in the house who will touch it. I add whatever left over meat I happen to have from dinners (like today when I used left over taco meat). I usually use egg noodles or elbow macaroni, and I add extra soup because I like mine soup consistency. Whatever you do, don't skip the sour cream. It really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Am giving this recipe 5 starts! it was so simple that my 9 year old son was the one to prepared it! Not only that, but is was so cheap and child friendly! my children love it! I do must say... we did added a pinch of garlic and a pinch of "complete seasoning"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
We didn't like this one at all :( It ended up a sloppy mess and very unappetising. The cabbage and tomato combination just doesn't do it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States