Fall Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
After reading the previous reviews...I knew that I needed to tweak this. I was asked to bring a salad for Thanksgiving (early). I had made a similar salad with a cranberry gorgonzola vinagrette that I was asked to bring again...that recipe is long gone. I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar, 2 T apple cider Vinegar. I substituted 1/4 cup plus 1 Tbls. Whole Berry Cranberry Sauce for the sugar & cranberries...I know...sugar+cranberries= cranberry sauce...it was fabulous...I liked the color and texture of the dressing better. Used dried cranberries in the salad itself. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great salad, I doubled up the dressing. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This one didn't quite hit the mark for me. The dressing is quite sweet, and I found that the combo of that with the pears was just too much. I used rice vinegar as others suggested. Dressing was good, but next time I'll omit the pears and add more savory ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We love the combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was awesome! I made this and served it at my daughter-in-law to be's bridal shower. It was an absolute hit!!!! I had so many ladies asking for the recipe I finally just made a general announcement to the whole group of 35 where they could find it themselves. Just FYI... the shower theme was a "Perfect Pear" meaning that my son and his bride to be were a "perfect pair". And the are! ;-) So this recipe with it's use of pears was "perfect"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I only got as far as making the cranberry vinaigrette. There is far too much vinegar in this, that is all you can smell and taste. I started over with another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I scribbled down the recipe a few days ago and started making today then went back to read reviews. We like tart but I do have to agree that it's too much vinegar so I played with it. I added 1/4 cup more cranberries then a half cup water. Ended up with 3 T of sugar. Was still tart and tangy but good for us. I peeled my pear as the skin was rather tough, used romaine, red leaf, and a little spinach. Added some crasins. Will def make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Num num num num num! I'm a definite fan of this combination. I was unable to find cranberries so on a whim at the grocery store I picked up frozen whole blackberries instead--I used the same process for the dressing with only two additions: 1) as I heated the vinegar and berries I smashed the berries with a large plastic spoon, and 2) I added 2 more tsps of sugar for added sweetness. Thank you for this great combo of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Good salad. Definitely don't use cider vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Excellent dressing - I used half cider vinegar and half rice wine vinegar and used 2 Tbsp. of white sugar. I also added a couple drops of red food coloring to give the dressing more of that rich red cranberry look. I used a bagged spring mix, thin sliced red delicious apples, thin sliced red onions, dried cranberies and the toasted walnuts (350 for ten minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States