Fall French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
EXCELLANT!! AND EASY TO MAKE THE ONLY THING I ADDED WAS BEEF BOULLION WITH THE CHICKEN BROTH AND LARGE CAESAR STYLE CROUTONS INSTEAD OF PLAIN ITALIAN OR FRENCH BREAD. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Sooo delicious ! Very original with the cinnamon and the apples, tasty! I loved it, Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Wonderful fall soup!!! I leave out the brandy and use beef broth instead of chicken. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Super yummy! I made it and took left overs to work. Left overs are even better. I did use beef stock instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This onion soup is a winner! It's very good and the cider gives it a nice "autumn" twist. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Love this recipe - it's a great way to celebrate fall's crisp weather and amazing flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanuckChefBexx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teally
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe was good but not fantastic. I'm a huge apple fan so I was hoping for more of a apple flavour. I omitted the oil and just used the butter but next time I might use a little less. I also as other have suggested used beef broth instead of chicken and left the ingredients to marry for 8 hours on low instead of 4 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teally

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This soup was yummy overall. However, several things I would change: 1 - The recipe doesn't specify when to add oil, so I added it at the beginning with the butter. 2 - Soup didn't taste salty enough, so added a bit of salt 3 - I would recommend cooking the onions/apples portion for a good 8 hours, and then adding the liquids and cooking for a good four hours. I cooked the liquids for 1 1/2 hours, as outlined in the recipe, and the flavors didn't really get to meld. However, the next day I heated up some leftovers and it was really yummy. So, I think the liquids just need to be cooked longer so the flavors all blend together. 4 - Lastly, I used Vidalia onions in this recipe, but I think next time I'll try red onions. Red onions would compliment the flavor of the apples very well, I think. I also might try using golden delicious apples instead of granny smiths. They added a bit too much tartness to the soup. Overall, a great unique recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
We really enjoyed this soup. It was slightly sweet, slightly tangy, yet still savory (I did add salt and pepper). I used two Vidalias and two white onions, and I made a few minor changes based on personal preference: I grated the apple for a texture that would be consistent with the onions; I used half coconut oil and half butter; I used veg broth; and I omitted the "crouton," instead simmering a cinnamon stick with the onion/apple mixture and adding a splash of pure maple syrup (although next time I'll try it with the bread). Also, I didn't have brandy, so I used Sam Adams Utopias, which has a smoky flavor similar to cognac. I topped the soup with the cheese and let it melt--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Yum! I'd change a few things: 1. Use beef broth instead of chicken. It's not a true French Onion with chicken broth. 2. I added 2 tsps of salt, and we still thought it needed a little more. Perhaps the beef broth would help this. 3. The recipe doesn't say when to add the oil. 4. The bandy flavor was very prominent, even after four hours of simmering. I might reduce it to just 1 tbs. I like the unique flavor it adds, but just not quite so strong. 5. The bread done this way was to DIE for. Seriously amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollarhide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States