Fall-Apart Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Excellent. The only change I made was to add the fresh parsley and spinach near the end, with the other veggies - the 3-hour oven method with the spinach freaked me out a little... The recipe is a bit long and involved, but it is soooo good. I also tossed some of the pork with bowtie pasta, parsley and green onion for a couple of pickies. ;) Thanks, Michelle - its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Great! Even better the next day. Followed the recipe exactly except for I used navy beans because that's what I had and I used homemade beef stock. I also used boneless pork ribs instead of a roast. They were very very tender. The stew was quite spicy. My red pepper flakes were very fresh. My husband liked it's somewhat unusual flavor very much and wants me to make it again. (I think it was the cinnamon and nutmeg that he noted were unusual flavors in the stew.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Wonderful flavor, but a little too time consuming! I ran out of time after toasting the flour, so I threw everything in the crock pot for 5 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I made this over the weekend and WOW it was one of the best stews I have ever, ever had. My only regret? There were no leftovers. I'll definitely be doubling next time (it did feed two adults, a teenage boy, and 3 little kids and no one was left hungry although some of us would have liked more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I didn't have the time or exactly all the ingredients to do this so I customized it like this: I cubed two large pork chops and tossed them in a bag with the flour and all the spices. Then, I cooked them over medium heat till brown. I removed them from the pan and sauteed in butter the onion, when the onion was translucent I added the squash and then the spinach and cooked them through. Then, I added the meat back in and added the beef broth, tomatoes, red pepper flakes and a can of mushrooms. I also added 2 cans of great northern beans because that is what I had. Then, I let it all simmer in the pot over low heat for about 40 minutes. I served with various cheeses and some crusty bread. Delicious! The whole family, four year old included, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Cordes Lakes, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I mixed everything up in the crock pot & added cooked beef stew meat. Did not use oil, butter, butter beans, squash or zucchini and didn't have bay leaves. Loved the flavour, it simmered all day 8hrs! Was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittCBrock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Rimbey, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was GREAT. Even for the non-zuchinni fan in the house, we loved it. I used cannellini as this was my on hand bean...this is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is by far my favorite winter stew. I have made this numerous times over the past two years and wouldn't change a thing. It is such a fabulous stew that I have used it in a "soup buffet baby shower" last February.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Good. Surprised at how spicy it is. Had to whip up a quick meal for the kids due to this. Husband asked me not to make this again and I will gladly accommodate that request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This did take quite a bit of effort. I think it will be better when I try it again with a few changes. First of all, following the recipe produces a VERY spicy stew, so when you are adding the spices to the pork to sit overnight, next time I'd try using only 1 T of pepper, and a bit more salt (the pork was extremely peppery that it overpowered any other flavor). Also, if you don't like fat, make sure you TRIM the fat off the cubes of pork (I used a boneless pork shoulder roast and cut it up). I skipped the 3 hours in the oven thing and just put the pork in a crockpot (minus the spinach, which I don't see what its purpose is) on LOW for 3 hours (check to see if it's tender before adding the rest). Then put in olive oil/flour/onion, celery/mushroom mixture. Add the beef broth etc. like it says, and put it on HIGH for 3 more hours (I added the zucchini at this point as well, or it won't cook completely). Add the beans and spinach at the end (30 min on HIGH or 1 hr on LOW). I'd also consider having a separate dish for the kids to eat as this was pretty spicy. I cut back on the crushed red pepper flakes to about 1/4 t. and it was still extremely spicy. And watch that extra pepper you add at the end as it says. Serve with fresh hot bread and it will be a complete meal. I'd make again, like I said, but with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States