Falafel I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Mine came out a little thin, so I thickened it with more peanut butter and some soy flour to get a dough-like consistency. (Great way to up the protein content even more!) I also upped the spices to compensate. It came out very good! (I used crunchy peanut butter because I like the texture). Note that this recipe makes approximately 40 individual balls, with four or five filling up one pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This recipe was very good. The recipe should be more specific regarding the use of creamy peanut butter. If you use a chunky peanut butter you get too much of a peanut concentration in your falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
The flavor was perfect but no matter what i did, it was too thin and wouldn't stay in a ball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I guess I should have read the reviews before making this. On the positive side, this recipe was extremely easy and quick to make, it smelled and tasted wonderful and I will definitely make it again. As others have mentioned, however, the mixture was not solid enough to form into balls so I had to take away a star for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This recipe is a great start for falafel. I added additional spices of celery salt, much more garam marsala, (as I had no coriander on hand and it contains coriander AND cumin.) Lots of black pepper, and some gluten free bread crumbs finished this off nicely. I also let is sit in the fridge for awhile before frying, it helps firm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
great flavor, but I added 4 cups of bread crumbs to be able to make into patties and fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
As with all recipes, there is always critcism....this recipe lacks flavor and body. It was a good start, but required an awful lot of tweaking to get both a good flavor and consistency. I added a bit more coriander and some curry powder (as the pantry was lacking garam masala), and some bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After reading the top few reviews, I made some adjustments (of course). The crumbliness of the falafel is easily solved by adding an extra egg. Simple and effective. I did the following for spices: 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp garam masala, and 3 heaping tsp's of bread crumbs. I actually forgot the onion altogether but it wasn't a big deal. I cooked the falafel and put it smashed in a wrap with romaine lettuce, diced roma tomatoes, plenty of yellow onion, and 1000 island dressing. Would make it this way again, for sure. I only rated 3 stars because, well, I made so many changes, I didn't really eat the product of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HopHead
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
The flavour of these falafel was different than any falafel I've had, but very, very good. I love the spiciness of them! Based on other people's comments of being too runny, I tried mashing the chickpeas like other recipes suggest, hoping they would be thicker and stick together better. I still had no luck :o( A few of them kind of stayed together, and the rest just ended up as tiny scattered fried pieces. They still worked in a pita, but were not balls by any means!!! The difficulty in preparation is the only reason I gave this recipe 3 stars; otherwise, it was very good. ( I did leave out the cilantro!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Way too thin. Could not have made a ball out of it if I wanted. Excellent flavor. Just poured it into the pan, and fried it. Looking for something more like a Burger. Any ideas????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States