Fake Whip Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I honestly don't understand why no one liked this recipe. My family (kids included) loved it and requested it again for our Saturday night cakes. I mixed in mashed strawberries and frosted a chocolate cake with this frosting, which might have made the difference from other people's results. For those of you who didn't like it: you might try adding berries (fresh or frozen) and also using the frosting on a different cake. Not all cakes do well with certain kinds of frosting, even if they are dubbed "versitle" in terms of what you can frost them with. Also, as with any recipe, you need to be careful, when preparing it. One little slip in the preperation can ruin the recipe, in terms of what it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smacdonald
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe has potential. I added a little bit of cream of tartar after mixing it for awhile and not having any substance...and it ended up turning out excellent. Went wonderfully on top of my angel food cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
i did not like this recipe because it just looks like brown sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I agree, I do not understand why the other people reated this recipe so low. Mine was so tasty and light and fluffy. I agree with the other review of addind in fruit. I mashed up stawberries (about 1 1/2C) and whipped it on high speed untill my disired consistency came. This would be delicious on top of fresh fruit, waffles, and desserts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This recipe was not my favourite. It was brown and still had apple bits in it becuase thy didn't combine well. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I think this recipe is completely misnamed. It's not a whipped cream recipe. It's a frosting recipe that you could use instead of whipped cream. If you are out of whipped cream and need to make some to as a replacement in a different recipe this is NOT your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I did not like this recipe. It seems like it is missing a key ingredient or something. Very strange texture. Certainly not a replacement for whipped topping in my opinion. Maybe you will have better luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
So, this recipe only receives three stars after some serious tweakage. For starters, grating an apple seems like an awful lot of work when there is applesauce on hand. So we used unsweetened applesauce. Slightly more powdered sugar was used than the recipe calls for (for thickening purposes). Next, with our safety being top priority, we microwaved the uncooked egg mixture. The microwavezation also made the recipe frothier. A definite plus. Good luck, this one is tricky to your tastebuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States