Fake Sourdough Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I wish I could give this recipe more stars! It is easy to make, and the dough stays great in the fridge for days. I made the dough on the weekend, and used it 5 days later, and the end result was a huge hit! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used some vinegar in regular milk, and it was fine. Thanx for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I cut this recipe in half, because I didn't think I would want as many as it made - boy, was that a mistake! I'm not a big fan of sourdough, so I like these because they are not very sour, and no fussing with a starter! They are so easy to make, and the texture is wonderful - very light and fluffy. The dough IS sticky, but just put a lot of flour down to knead it. It's great that you can keep the dough on hand in the fridge for fresh bread when you want it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
For sure I'll use this recipe again! I used it to make hamburger buns in the end so I cut way back on the sugar. Also I added a couple of Tbls olive oil, garlic powder, and rosemary. The texture and taste were out of this world! Try it with salmon burger patties...Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This recipe makes really good biscuits if you follow the directions differently. I halved the recipe and I mixed the yeast water and sugar togeather, then cut in the butter and soda, salt, and powder. Then I added the two and a half cups of flower and added buttermilk until the dough became doughy. It kneeded well and I let it rise for an hour before rolling it out and making biscuits. The end result was airy and light rolls that would have tasted a lot like real sourdough biscuits IF the sugar content had been less. I will make this recipe again and I encourage others to try as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I gave it 4 stars only because like some other folks found it too thin no problem just add a tad bit more flower and bring it closer to bread dough.Then kneed fold and roll or whitch ever you prefer.keeps good and darn tasty.Be brave and use full receipe you,ll be glad you did.Ps love the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Real easy...couldn't wait for the dough to "cool down" much though. It still worked out really good. Family loved them. I made a 1/2 batch to try out. Will definitely have to make full batch (or more). I used a 9x13 pan to put the flour in to knead dough and shape. :) made clean up a lot easier. I sprayed tops w/butter before baking. They turned out super great Thanks, I really enjoy the receipes as I like to create a variety of meals/foods for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamrockbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These are wonderful you can make your dough in the morn and cook the bisciuts for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I had some problems with this recipe, mostly my own fault. I tried to make it in the food processor, like I do with my other biscuit recipe, and I cannot stress enough what a BAD idea that was. This recipe makes more of a batter than a dough. I turned it out onto the counter to knead it...don't do it. Just a sticky gluey mess. I scraped it into a bowl and spooned it into a muffin tin. It took about 25 minutes to bake, and was more like a muffin than a biscuit. It was a tasty muffin, but not a biscuit like texture at all. I think if I made it again in the future (not a given) that I would mix it with the standing mixer and add probably another cup and a half to 2 cups of flour, or cut the buttermilk back by half. My son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These are really good,easy to make,and very handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wow - Had a lot to do for Christmas dinner so didn't want to be making bread/buns on the holiday Loved the fact that it would keep in the fridge for a couple of weeks to free up time on the holiday. Made the dough on the Sunday and kept in fridge until Christmas morning (Wednesday) then removed from fridge, rolled out and cut with 3 inch round biscuit cutter and also a star cutter (for Christmas). Everyone raved about the biscuits. I make most bread and buns we eat and this recipe is definitely a keeper! Can't wait to use the recipe again for other family members to try. I followed the recipe as written as it was the first time I had tried it. Yes it was sticky. I usually find that when I work with any sweet dough recipe, I oil my hands and/or wooden spoon when mixing. After the dough sat in the fridge in a sealed rubbermaid container, it was fine to work with. Had to generously flour the surface where I rolled it out but that was to be expected. Once cut I placed buns on cookie sheet on oiled parchment paper, covered with plastic wrap and they sat out a few hours until we were ready to bake them. I did at my daughters and they did not take near the 15 minutes that is says to bake them but I'm not sure how accurate her oven temp is . Thanks for sharing. An easy, simple recipe to follow! Update! I Have found the key to a great Sour Dough taste is letting them rise a couple of hours or so before baking. Still Great light biscuit if just rise for the 1/2 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States