Fake Sourdough Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I cut this recipe in half, because I didn't think I would want as many as it made - boy, was that a mistake! I'm not a big fan of sourdough, so I like these because they are not very sour, and no fussing with a starter! They are so easy to make, and the texture is wonderful - very light and fluffy. The dough IS sticky, but just put a lot of flour down to knead it. It's great that you can keep the dough on hand in the fridge for fresh bread when you want it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I had some problems with this recipe, mostly my own fault. I tried to make it in the food processor, like I do with my other biscuit recipe, and I cannot stress enough what a BAD idea that was. This recipe makes more of a batter than a dough. I turned it out onto the counter to knead it...don't do it. Just a sticky gluey mess. I scraped it into a bowl and spooned it into a muffin tin. It took about 25 minutes to bake, and was more like a muffin than a biscuit. It was a tasty muffin, but not a biscuit like texture at all. I think if I made it again in the future (not a given) that I would mix it with the standing mixer and add probably another cup and a half to 2 cups of flour, or cut the buttermilk back by half. My son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Hey this is pretty easy to make and they taste great.Keep up the great work(just don't tell the guys at work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This recipe makes really good biscuits if you follow the directions differently. I halved the recipe and I mixed the yeast water and sugar togeather, then cut in the butter and soda, salt, and powder. Then I added the two and a half cups of flower and added buttermilk until the dough became doughy. It kneeded well and I let it rise for an hour before rolling it out and making biscuits. The end result was airy and light rolls that would have tasted a lot like real sourdough biscuits IF the sugar content had been less. I will make this recipe again and I encourage others to try as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
For sure I'll use this recipe again! I used it to make hamburger buns in the end so I cut way back on the sugar. Also I added a couple of Tbls olive oil, garlic powder, and rosemary. The texture and taste were out of this world! Try it with salmon burger patties...Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I wish I could give this recipe more stars! It is easy to make, and the dough stays great in the fridge for days. I made the dough on the weekend, and used it 5 days later, and the end result was a huge hit! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used some vinegar in regular milk, and it was fine. Thanx for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I gave it 4 stars only because like some other folks found it too thin no problem just add a tad bit more flower and bring it closer to bread dough.Then kneed fold and roll or whitch ever you prefer.keeps good and darn tasty.Be brave and use full receipe you,ll be glad you did.Ps love the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These are wonderful you can make your dough in the morn and cook the bisciuts for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I've made these many times and have found that they are always too wet. I use rice milk with vinegar for the buttermilk and margarine for the fat, but that should not effect the wetness. Eliminating the water helps, or just adding more flour to get the right consistency works well too. These make incredible hamburger buns! Shape them, let rest 10-20 minutes and bake at 375 until golden. The taste and texture, after the changes, is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The texture and taste of these rolls is pretty good considering how easy they are to make. Just know if you make the whole recipe you will not get 48 rolls unless you want flat as a pancake disks. There is no way you can make 48 actual normal sized rolls from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States