Fajita Marinade I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This recipe makes fajitas that are addictive! And I ought to know - I'm from Texas! I scaled this to 20 servings for a party and used half the marinade for top round steak and half for chicken breasts. I used only 1/2 cup water in this re-scaled recipe, and I also threw in a generous handful of chopped fresh cilantro. It needs the cilantro... that gives it a wonderful kick. I marinated the meat for 24 hours and then grilled it nice and slow. It couldn't have been better! The meat was tender and absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This is very good... I did increase the Cayenne to 1 teasp and also added 1/2 teasp each of Cumin and Coriander...and also some Jalapeno juice from the jar... It was so good... We made fajitas and also used the leftover meat the next day with eggs for breakfast... Kiki (Brampton,On,Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Wonderful! - Better than our favorite restaurant. I've never made fajitas at home and had them come out so well. Followed the recipe as given. Marinaded chicken tenders for about 8-9 hours - was plenty of time. I used my new grill pan skillet and grilled the chicken in just a tiny bit of the marinade. When that was done, I took them out, put a little more marinade in the pan, and grilled a large sliced onion and both a red and green bell pepper, cut into strips. Added a little more olive oil and cajun spice while the veggies gooked. Best fajita meal ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Made this with chicken tenders and let them marinate over night. I swapped out the soy sauce for Lea & Perrin's, doubled the cayenne, added half a teaspoon of cumin, and a few jalapeno slices. I also left out the salt. I was expecting this to be a little spicier than it was, but the flavor was great. I was worried my mom would think it was too spicy, but surprisingly not (my dad and brother liked it, too, so the heat level must have been just right to please everybody). If I were making this recipe for myself, I'd probably add even more cayenne, but then, I am pretty crazy. The only complaint I have (and not enough to bump it down to 4 stars) is that prep time for me was a lot longer than 15 minutes. I guess if you start with your limes already squeezed (or juice from a bottle) and your chicken already cut up and stuff, it might take 15 minutes, but if you have to take those into account, it'll probably take a little longer. Or I could just be slow, since it took me around an hour. ;) I'll have to do this with steak next time. I made two pounds of chicken, and usually when we have fajitas, there's chicken left over the next day. Not this time! Too bad, because I was looking forward to quesadillas for lunch tomorrow. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Perfectly wonderful marinade! I have never used the liquid smoke and it's still great. I've changed the water to other things...beer, wine, veggie broth...all work well. Also, lemon subs very nicely for lime in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Great fajita marinade for chicken! I omitted the water and added 1/4 tsp. of cumin. I poked the chicken with a fork serveal times, put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate overnight, turning it serveral times during the marinating process. It was so good grilled over charcoal! We served it on warm tortillas with all the fixen's: peppers, onions, shredded cheese, salsa, guacamole, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
THIS WAS GREAT!!! My husband wanted to have a "Fajita BBQ" so we invited the whole family (both sides) over and tried this recipe with 7 lbs. of fajita meat!!! I have to say I HATE trying new recipes when we have parties but I bit the bullet on this one and it turned out WONDERFUL! We got so many rave reviews and my husband has been begging me every weekend to make more fajitas. The only addition I made in the recipe is I added 1/2 c. chopped fresh cilantro cause I love the flavor of it and marinated overnight. They turned out awesome!! I thought for sure I would be left with a ton of leftover meat, considering I always over estimate, but we had a small handful left, which my husband nibbled on after the guests all left. I will definately be using this recipe again, my husband wants to laminate the recipe!!! KUDOS ROBBIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKI810

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is good, but I think too much water is called for. If I made it again, I would probably omit the water altogether. It literally watered down the flavor. I had to add extra lime, garlic, and pepper. Then, it was good. But three stars for the recipe as-is. I made chicken fajitas with green and red bell pepper, and red onions in whole-grain toritllas, and heirloom tomatoes, sharp cheddar, lite sour cream and sliced avocado on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This was WONDERFUL!!! I did make a few easy changes I increased the soy sauce to 4 tsp. and left out the salt. I also added 1/2 tsp chili powder and used about 1 and 1/2 tsp cayenne. It was quite spicy and VERY flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I really was so excited for this because I love steak fajitas so so much, but have never actually made them myself. I found this really limey, and not really that spicy. I will admit I didn't use as much liquid smoke as it called for, because I have never used it and it smelled really strong. Maybe that would have taken away some of the lime taste because it needed something more. Thanks for the recipe anyway. Maybe I will try it again exactly as written and see if I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States