Fajita Marinade I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Even though our cut of meat was a little tough, the flavor was spot on! I only got it marinaded about 3-4 hours and next time will do overnight in hoping it helps tender up the meat as well. Great throw together marinade!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This tastes nothing like fajita meat. We had to add fajita seasoning to make it taste normal. Followed the recipe EXACTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was great! I agreed with the other reviewers that suggested adding cilantro. Only other tweaks I made was to add the zest of 1 lime and I used Worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce (becasue I was out of soy). We marinated chicken in it overnight, then grilled it. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Being from Texas, I've tasted all sorts of fajitas from the bland, the peppered, and the citrus. This falls in the citrus category so keep that in mind if you don't like that sort of taste. I made these exactly as written and marinated a beef skirt cut of meat (1-1/2 lbs) for around 5-6 hours. While flavored well, the meat was kind of tough so I would marinade it more next time (possibly overnight). Keep in mind, a beef skirt cut is thin and is what a majority of the southwestern fajitas are made of. Since my family likes the citrus marinades, I will up the quantity of lime next time and scale down the liquid smoke flavoring. We found the smoke flavoring to be a little overpowering. This is a good "base" recipe for many cuts of meat which I will try later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I guess I am not sure what I was expecting but I would not use this recipe again. Very strange tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My sister prepared these fajitas Saturday for her son's graduation dinner and they were delicious! She left out the smoke seasoning and added cumin. She also increased the garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I know this marinade is meant for meat, but it is excellent on veggies as well! I make the recipe as written and mix it up with sliced portabella caps, different colored bell peppers, and onions. Then I put it in one of those vacuum containers and let it sit for a few hours. Grill it up and enjoy! Cilantro does complement the marinade's flavor well, but I just serve it on the side. For reasons I'll never understand, some people don't like cilantro. I'm convinced that this marinade could make even dirt taste great. Five stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Really good base marinade. Next time I will kick it up with a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Very tender and flavorful. Make extra to add to a southwestern salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly & it was rather bland. The liquid smoke added a nice "right off the grill" flavor but it wasn't anything to write home about. I'm going to move on & try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muddy Paws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States