Fajita Marinade I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Being from Texas, I've tasted all sorts of fajitas from the bland, the peppered, and the citrus. This falls in the citrus category so keep that in mind if you don't like that sort of taste. I made these exactly as written and marinated a beef skirt cut of meat (1-1/2 lbs) for around 5-6 hours. While flavored well, the meat was kind of tough so I would marinade it more next time (possibly overnight). Keep in mind, a beef skirt cut is thin and is what a majority of the southwestern fajitas are made of. Since my family likes the citrus marinades, I will up the quantity of lime next time and scale down the liquid smoke flavoring. We found the smoke flavoring to be a little overpowering. This is a good "base" recipe for many cuts of meat which I will try later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I guess I am not sure what I was expecting but I would not use this recipe again. Very strange tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My sister prepared these fajitas Saturday for her son's graduation dinner and they were delicious! She left out the smoke seasoning and added cumin. She also increased the garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I know this marinade is meant for meat, but it is excellent on veggies as well! I make the recipe as written and mix it up with sliced portabella caps, different colored bell peppers, and onions. Then I put it in one of those vacuum containers and let it sit for a few hours. Grill it up and enjoy! Cilantro does complement the marinade's flavor well, but I just serve it on the side. For reasons I'll never understand, some people don't like cilantro. I'm convinced that this marinade could make even dirt taste great. Five stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Really good base marinade. Next time I will kick it up with a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Very tender and flavorful. Make extra to add to a southwestern salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly & it was rather bland. The liquid smoke added a nice "right off the grill" flavor but it wasn't anything to write home about. I'm going to move on & try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muddy Paws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornelius, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Amazing! I cook these for my boyfriend from Texas, and he loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
We used this recipe for both chicken and steak. Marinated overnight and used for Cinco De Mayo festivities! Guests all raved over the fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Great marinade. "Fajita Night" will be more common at my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States