Fajita Marinade I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was fantastic...I only wish I would have had the time to marinate as the instructions state. I was in a time crunch so I replaced the garlic cloves with garlic powder(1 teas) and browned the meat - then I added the spices, lime juice, veggies and a little water and simmerred for about 10 minutes(I did not have liquid smoke) Without a doubt the BEST - I will definitly make these again but make sure I have the time to marinate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I've made these twice now and the first time wasn't that impressed. The second go around I cut the water out and replaced it with beer (lager), added 1/4 tsp of cumin and chopped a small bunch of cilantro and added that. These turned out much better also traditional fajita meat is a skirt/flank steak which needs to be marinated at least 24 hours for the fibers to be broken down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpalmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Rockwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
We make this recipe all the time - makes the best fajitas ever!!! We don't add the liquid smoke flavoring and it takes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
FANTASTIC!!!! One of my favorite meals by far. I double the recipe if I use steak and chicken. I also cook up 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper and 1 onion. Wrap it all up in a non-hydrogenated flour tortilla and you are good to go. YUMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Absolutely the best fajita marinade I have found. It was resturant quality. I marinated chicken, steak and shrimp. I then grilled the meats using a grill and grill pan. For the veggies, I marinated grape tomatos, red/yellow/green bell peppers sliced and sweet onion. I grilled the veggies in a grill pan also. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was simply delicious. I eliminated the cayenne because my 8 year old doesn't do spicy. I let it sit for only 3 hours because the skirt steak I had was very thin. It turned out to be just right....not over/underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Even though our cut of meat was a little tough, the flavor was spot on! I only got it marinaded about 3-4 hours and next time will do overnight in hoping it helps tender up the meat as well. Great throw together marinade!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This tastes nothing like fajita meat. We had to add fajita seasoning to make it taste normal. Followed the recipe EXACTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was great! I agreed with the other reviewers that suggested adding cilantro. Only other tweaks I made was to add the zest of 1 lime and I used Worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce (becasue I was out of soy). We marinated chicken in it overnight, then grilled it. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Being from Texas, I've tasted all sorts of fajitas from the bland, the peppered, and the citrus. This falls in the citrus category so keep that in mind if you don't like that sort of taste. I made these exactly as written and marinated a beef skirt cut of meat (1-1/2 lbs) for around 5-6 hours. While flavored well, the meat was kind of tough so I would marinade it more next time (possibly overnight). Keep in mind, a beef skirt cut is thin and is what a majority of the southwestern fajitas are made of. Since my family likes the citrus marinades, I will up the quantity of lime next time and scale down the liquid smoke flavoring. We found the smoke flavoring to be a little overpowering. This is a good "base" recipe for many cuts of meat which I will try later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States