Fairy Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe! We too call it sponge candy and it's extremely expensive to buy this stuff at the one candy shop that still carries it at Christmas time only. It was so simple to make, takes very little ingredients that you usually have, and tastes just as great as the spendy stuff. My dad still doesn't believe I made it myself and everyone at work asked for the recipe! I will put my next batch in a 9x13 pan though so it's not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was so much fun to make! It's just like a chemistry experiment, the way it foams and bubbles up when the soda is added. I lined my pan with quick-release foil instead of greasing, and just lifted the whole thing right out of the pan once it cooled. Next time I'll try it with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I followed the recipe's directions exactly (except for the pan size), and it turned out perfectly. The candy tastes just like the fairy food that I remember from my childhood. I added the baking soda at exactly 300 degrees, and only stirred three or four times (once the baking soda was added) before pouring into a 9 x 13 pan lined with non-stick foil. The candy set up rather quickly, and popped right out of the foil. I did dip the candy into high-quality chocolate that I melted in a double boiler with just a teaspoon of shortening added. I will definitely make this candy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I didn't try this exact recipe but have tried a similar on - I was so excited to find this recipe as I grew up in WI and used to eat Angel Food Candy and then moved to IN and it is about impossible to find. This stuff is sooooo delicious! Everyone who has tasted it loves it, kids and grownups alike. Very wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I gave this as gifts last year to some family members who LOVE sponge candy but can no longer find it in any of the candy shops. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
WOW!!!!Just like the Fairy Food from Wisconsin, only better. And so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Giles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAVIDIMM
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I used to live in Wisconsin, and this recipe was awesome!! We made it the first time when we were kids, and our parents weren't home.... freaked us out (we couldn't figure out at first why you needed a large pot). We just spead it out on a big cookie sheet, and then broke it up. The less baking soda, the better. When I moved down to Alabama, I tried making the exact same recipe (it was one of my favorites) about 5 times before realizing that the humidity was screwing it up. So the people who posted the negative reviews might take that into consideration. Edit: I was able to make it work in high humidity!!! It was even raining the entire day I made it .... here's how I did it: Make the fairy food, pour it in the pan, and immediately refrigerate. As soon as it's set(about 30 min?), take it out, break it up, and dip it in chocolate, then immediately put it in freezer in air tight container. Doesn't take long to thaw it, so take it out of the freezer about 20 minutes before you serve it. Worked for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIDIMM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe! So simple, but tastes exactly like the "sponge toffee" I've always known. (Never heard it called "fairy food" before -- interesting!) I used an 8x8 pan and it filled it to the brim, so I'll probably try something bigger next time. Didn't bother with the chocolate because we just wanted it plain. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
:( Wyocat was right, at 300 the temp shoots right up. Everything was going along nicely, I dumped the baking soda in at 300 stirred and turned to pour into the dish and I noticed a funny smell. The candy was orange and then it hit me, I BURNED IT! Ugh. I really wanted to try this and I just happened to have some corn syrup at home. Now I have a disgusting mess and an awful smell. I give 3 stars because I burned it (not the recipe's fault) and because the instructions weren't clear enough for me. I'll try again after I get more corn syrup at the store and hopefully I can give more stars. *Update* :( Very unhappy now, I made a trip to the store and bought more corn syrup after the first batch failed. I made a couple of adjustments to see if I could do this right. I heated the sugar to about 270 and removed it from the heat and stirred in the sifted baking soda. Closer to what I think it is supposed to be, the stench has lifted in my house but again, IT BURNED! I'm getting grumpy about this one. ***UPDATE*** Third time must be the charm. Removed it from the heat at 260, added in the baking soda. Stirred really well and dumped into the dish. Still kinda orange but since it tasted just fine I assume that's the way it's supposed to be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States