Fairy Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
We've always called this stuff "sponge toffee", and it's just like the inside of a Crunchy bar. Terrific recipe, it worked out just perfectly. It didn't take too long to do, either. The kids loved it! Be very careful when pouring this out and cleaning the pot...it gets *extremely* hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe! We too call it sponge candy and it's extremely expensive to buy this stuff at the one candy shop that still carries it at Christmas time only. It was so simple to make, takes very little ingredients that you usually have, and tastes just as great as the spendy stuff. My dad still doesn't believe I made it myself and everyone at work asked for the recipe! I will put my next batch in a 9x13 pan though so it's not so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was so much fun to make! It's just like a chemistry experiment, the way it foams and bubbles up when the soda is added. I lined my pan with quick-release foil instead of greasing, and just lifted the whole thing right out of the pan once it cooled. Next time I'll try it with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I think this recipe calls for TOO MUCH BAKING SODA! I'd decrease it to 1 TBSP. like all the other recipes for sponge candy I found. I think 1.5 TBSP. makes it taste "off". Also, I used a 9x13x2" Pyrex dish and the foam was about 4" high! The air bubbles were so large that it totally crumbled when I cut into it. There was no way this would ever be able to be dipped in chocolate. Be sure to watch the candy thermometer very carefully, as it seems to rapidly increase in temperature at 300. Mine got the tiniest bit too done and tasted burned; so, on top of the soda taste, was just awful. Not sure what to do with this mess. But, do try reducing the baking soda if you try making this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I have this same recipe and it calls for only 1 tbsp. baking soda. This always tastes great. If you feel your candy raised too high you can cut across the height. Never try on a damp/rainy day and line pan with non-stick foil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I think that the candy foams up just right. I made this candy for my boyfriend who loves crunchy bars but cannot get them in the US under $3. Can anyone tell me how to prevent the milky yellow "brittle" on the top and bottom of the crunch? It makes it difficult to chew. It has happened both times I tried the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I was not impressed. I expected something else when I was making it. Next time, if there is one, I will line the pan with foil or wax paper as it was almost impossible to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I followed the recipe's directions exactly (except for the pan size), and it turned out perfectly. The candy tastes just like the fairy food that I remember from my childhood. I added the baking soda at exactly 300 degrees, and only stirred three or four times (once the baking soda was added) before pouring into a 9 x 13 pan lined with non-stick foil. The candy set up rather quickly, and popped right out of the foil. I did dip the candy into high-quality chocolate that I melted in a double boiler with just a teaspoon of shortening added. I will definitely make this candy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I didn't try this exact recipe but have tried a similar on - I was so excited to find this recipe as I grew up in WI and used to eat Angel Food Candy and then moved to IN and it is about impossible to find. This stuff is sooooo delicious! Everyone who has tasted it loves it, kids and grownups alike. Very wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States