Fairy Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
4 stars for cuteness and probably about 3 for taste - this is definitely a kid friendly recipe. With that in mind I cut the bread into cute shapes using cookie cutters I had laying around. I dusted these with a bit of sugar as well as brightly colored sprinkles. My niece thought these were great especially when paired with an ice cold glass of Sunny D!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My roommate and I LOVED this recipe. We didn't have butter, sprinkles, or white bread, so we subbed pita for the white bread, feta cheese for the butter, and chopped lamb for the sprinkles. It was so easy to make and my kids were also able to help, which I really appreciated. All in all it made for a great dinner, and I would definitely serve it to any guests. Thanks for a great, easy-to-follow recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My son won't eat this as is. But, when I toasted the bread and used peanut butter instead of butter, we had a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I LOVED the idea of this as we were about to have 6 little kids for a week-end breakfast. We toasted Texas bread, cut it into big circles, squares and triangles. We spread with a variety of things, all spread thin; peanut butter, honey, butter and greap jelly. Then we used a scattering of mult-collored sprinkles and finished with a light dusting of clear sugar crystals. It made them sparkle and the kids gobbled them up. I was even able to coax most to eat some scrambled eggs and fruit, just to get more "glitter-bread". Will for sure use this idea when the G.kids visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I saw this recommended the other day on the exchange and I went to go make it for my sprinkle-loving toddler and she wouldn't eat it! I was so disappointed! She picked off a few of the sprinkles then gave up. It's a good idea though, just not for us. I never thought to put sprinkles on anything but cakes and stuff so now I may have to try putting sprinkles on things she won't eat like peas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was a great breakfast treat for my son and his cousins. We used reduced fat spread and various leftover decorating sprinkles. Next time I might even let them use cookie cutters to cut the bread into fun shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
My 5 year old has a very discerning palate and did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I toasted the bread before spreading w/ butter & served this to the grands w/ hard boiled eggs for breakfast...they loved it. I told them it was fairy dust. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
The adults at the party loved them too! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
"Yummy yummy yum!" is my four-year-old daughter's review of this. :) I toasted two slices of bread, spread them with Country Crock, and then she started to sprinkle. We noticed the sprinkles (Easter-themed ducks and bunnies and some purple and pink sugars) didn't want to stick to the toast, so we tapped them off and spread a thin little layer of grape jelly on the toast. She then resprinkled to her heart's desire! A fun little breakfast for a rainy day, thanks so much for sharing, Mermaid In Oz. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States