Fairy Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I'm gonna be honest here I didn't try these (made em for the kids) something about bread smothered in margarine and covered in sugar sprinkles just doesn't scream good eats to me lol. My kids and boyfriend LOVED it! I did toast my bread and we used clear shimmer sugar, multi color sprinkles, and chocolate sprinkles. Super cute idea and it was a middle of the movie, movie night snack that didn't cause me to miss half the flick like the usual snack does. I'm not sure a kid or manchild alive wouldn't love this for a quick simple snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My roommate and I LOVED this recipe. We didn't have butter, sprinkles, or white bread, so we subbed pita for the white bread, feta cheese for the butter, and chopped lamb for the sprinkles. It was so easy to make and my kids were also able to help, which I really appreciated. All in all it made for a great dinner, and I would definitely serve it to any guests. Thanks for a great, easy-to-follow recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I LOVED IT. I made it with my grandma.I am 9.Imade it with jelly\spinkles and butter. I put the butter then the jelly and spinkles with just a dash of suger.I would eat it every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This truly is an Aussie kids party must have. As an Aussie, living in Australia I can honestly say I've not been to a kids party that hasn't had Fairy Bread. The recipe works just as well with Butter (I prefer the taste of butter) but Fairy Bread really needs to be eaten within a few hours of making. Otherwise the colours in the sprinkles will run and the sprinkles themselves become a bit soft and unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
4 stars for cuteness and probably about 3 for taste - this is definitely a kid friendly recipe. With that in mind I cut the bread into cute shapes using cookie cutters I had laying around. I dusted these with a bit of sugar as well as brightly colored sprinkles. My niece thought these were great especially when paired with an ice cold glass of Sunny D!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Tip: Must use very fresh soft white bread. Real butter tastes better than margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
It was odd tasting to me, but when I switched out the butter for a peanut butter and honey mixture, the sweetness was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Thank you for sharing a traditional treat! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
ohhh, the memories this brings! while i no longer live in australia, i spent my childhood there and no birthday party was complete without bread and butter sprinkled with "hundreds and thousands"!thanks for reminding me .......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I LOVED the idea of this as we were about to have 6 little kids for a week-end breakfast. We toasted Texas bread, cut it into big circles, squares and triangles. We spread with a variety of things, all spread thin; peanut butter, honey, butter and greap jelly. Then we used a scattering of mult-collored sprinkles and finished with a light dusting of clear sugar crystals. It made them sparkle and the kids gobbled them up. I was even able to coax most to eat some scrambled eggs and fruit, just to get more "glitter-bread". Will for sure use this idea when the G.kids visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States