Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I couldn't taste the pear in this cake at all. it was also a little dry... I definitely wouldn't make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This was absolutely fabulous. I used EXTREMELY ripe pears which I think help make it so delicious. My mother-in-law even asked for the recipe (a FIRST!). I used a simple powdered sugar and milk glaze which was perfect. Thanks so much for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Perfect use for overripe pears. I used hand mixer & left small chunks which added nice texture, also added ginger & cinnamon and cut oil to 2/3 cup and cook time to 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Enjoyed this cake very much! I cut the baking time to 45 minutes and it was perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
A great cake with coffe/tea. Perfect for Mothers and Mothers-in-law!! I did not bake it long enough though. Perhaps 1 hour and 30 minutes would have worked better. I was not crazy about having to take out the food processor to prepare the puree but, the extra effort will not deter me from making it again. I may omit the nuts next time or try walnuts instead (pecans were just a wee more expensive!!) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Moist, delicious and not overly sweet. I eliminated the nuts (due to allergies) and replaced 1 cup of the flour with wheat flour. Also, because this was for a birthday, I used a bundt pan instead of 13x9 for a more special look. It took a little longer to bake (although the blame may rest on my ancient oven which has trouble keeping a stable temp) and had to be covered with foil for the last 15 minutes to prevent burning. The look was completed by sprinkling a bit of powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This is worth the work. I did it almost exactly as it said but added a tsp of cinnimon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
A perfectly delicious unique pear cake, just what I was looking for. The aroma alone is wonderful. This recipe will be handed down for generations. I am baking 2 more for my neighbour friends tomorrow. Thanks for sharing Rory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This recipe said to bake the cake for one hour and 15 minutes, when I checked it at 1 hour it was already burnt! The batter looked fabulous so I may try it again and keep a better eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
We really enjoyed this. Flavor of the pears (which were very ripe) really came through. Will definitely save for next fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States