Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This cake is fantastic! The only reason I didn't give it a full five stars is because I changed the recipe a bit. I didn't use any pecans, and I used 2/3 a cup of Enova instead of veggie oil. I also dusted the finished cake with a bit of powdered sugar instead of making an icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
WOW!! I just made this cake about and hour ago and it is awesome! This cake is so moist I wouldn't recommend changing anything although I did add a dash of cinnamon. I also made a simple vanilla icing for equal parts confectioners sugar and butter (1lb and 1 cup) and .5 tsp vanilla extract and it made it so sweet and tasty. All my boyfriend could say is, "WOW!!" with a mouth full of it! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I made this exactly as the recipe stated but I did cook in a round cake tin. I'm not sure how long this took to cook as having read the previous reviews I kept a close eye on it checking every 15 minutes or so. I did have to put paper over the top to stop it burning as it browned quite quickly but wasn't done inside. Worth the trouble though the texture of this cake is lovely and using very ripe pears gives it a great flavour. I will definitely make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I was really looking forword to making and tasting this cake as I love pears. I read all of the reviews and decided to make in a pretty bundt pan. I was really unsure of the cooking times as many reviews descrived different time recommendations. I baked in a bundt pan for one hour and fifteen minutes and this was too long. The flavor was very good and it smelled heavenly, buy the cake got a rather hard crust and was a bit ont he dry side. I will try again in a bundt pan and keep in the oven for only an hour. Also, I may try to cut back on the oil as this is an excessive amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I made this cake in two 8 inch rounds instead of a 13 X 9. I made an icing with powdered sugar, milk, cinnamon, and salt which I put in between the layers and also on top. I was asked for the recipe at work, and the cake was gone well before the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This makes a wonderful Pear Bread. I followed another review & made it bread instead. I also forgot to add the oil, which turned out better because I used (really) ripe pears. With the ripe pears, no need for the cup of oil. I started a new job & made this for the office. When my probation period was to end, my bosses told me they could not release me from probation until I made more pear bread! I would recommend this recipe to anyone & this has become a standard baking recipe & requested often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Super moist cake. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves from another pear cake recipe-lovely. Also poured a boiled butter/milk/sugar glaze over the top while it was still warm. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I couldn't taste the pear in this cake at all. it was also a little dry... I definitely wouldn't make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This was absolutely fabulous. I used EXTREMELY ripe pears which I think help make it so delicious. My mother-in-law even asked for the recipe (a FIRST!). I used a simple powdered sugar and milk glaze which was perfect. Thanks so much for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Perfect use for overripe pears. I used hand mixer & left small chunks which added nice texture, also added ginger & cinnamon and cut oil to 2/3 cup and cook time to 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States