Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was a good, moist cake but we couldn't taste the pears. I asked my kids to guess the "secret ingredient" and they guessed bananas. I will make this again whenever I have pears that are not getting eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't blend the pears, just sliced & chopped thin. I used two cups of all-purpose flour & 1 cup of whole wheat flour. (Husband is diabetic) Frosted with 8 ozs. cream cheese, 1 stick butter, softened & creamed.1tsp vanilla, liberal amt. of pecan pieces on top. Refrigerated several hours. Guests asked for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Our family's new fav cake! I used brown sugar only not white. Used macadamia nuts as we didn't have pecans or walnuts. Didn't puree the pears, simply sliced them thin. We used the cream cheese frosting also on this site. Fabulously deeelicious & Perfect combo with tea or for dessert with a cup of steaming latte! Husband took it to work and all the guys wanted a copy of the recipe to take home to their wives...hehe. No one could believe there was pear in the cake :o) Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
The cake was sweet but not too sweet. I didn't have pecans to put on the cake though. I used whole wheat flour instead of the white to make it a little bit healthier. The only change I made to the icing on top was adding some of a left over caramel topping I made for a caramel crunch apple pie.No one could tell if it was pear and not apple. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
All of my coworkers ate it. I should have waited for the pears to ripen a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was a great cake. Not too sweet. I glad I paid attention as it was well done in my oven at 1 hour....don't overbake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This cake is wonderful and was big hit. The only changes I made were to omit the nuts and I leave the pears chunky. I baked it in a glass pan and it was done in only 50 minutes. It tastes great on it's own, but with a cream cheese frosting it's spectacular. It was moist enough that next time I may take other reviewers suggestions and cut down on the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This cake is awesome! It reminds me of an old fashioned cake like my Granny used to make. I used 1 cup of "Smart Balance" oil to make it healthy. It turned out really moist. My hubby and I can't keep away from it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
New, different, great way to use up the over-ripe pears... we used asian pears and everyone was delighted. Nice flavor, delicate but moist. Great with or without a glaze type frosting ( we used a simple lemon/ white sugar glaze) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was delicious. Made in 2 8" round cake pans, did half oil/half applesauce, and frosted with cream cheese frosting. I let the cake sit out on the counter for about a day and a half before icing and serving, and it was incredibly moist. My only complaint would be that it lacked a dominant pear flavor. Next time I will puree more pear and use that instead of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States