Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Blah. I made it as directed (without nuts due to an allergy) and then put a powdered sugar/vanilla glaze on it. I could not taste the pears at all which is surprising since the pears I used were waaaay ripe. I baked for only 50 minutes and it borders on being too dry. It looks exactly like the picture, but it sure doesn't taste the way the reviews made it sound. Too bad...I was hoping to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Just baked it , had it, shared it. one word for it D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S! Didnt have nuts so i omitted them otherwise followed the recipe. I divided it into 1 loaf pan (so it baked in 40 mins) and other 9x11 pan, so its not too much & will bake in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe was wonderful, very moist and dense, I baked mine in a bunt pan which made it beautiful after I glazed it with the brown sugar glaze from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
With a few tweaks, this is wonderful. I cut the sugar (less 1/2 cup total), added cinnamon as someone else suggested, added 1/2 cup chopped crystallized ginger. My pears were overripe to the point of mush, so I mixed them with the sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla and used my hand held blender to mix them together thoroughly, then added sifted dry ingredients. Hm, wonder what it would be like with a few spoons of cocoa powder and a chocolate glaze..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I'm rating this specific recipe and not my own, as others are doing...This recipe specifically is very good, however, when using ripe All-Natural pears (grown in a neighbors tree which she gave me), I had to use 5-6 pears because they are considerably smaller. However, using exactly all of the ingredients produced a sweet cake with slimy chunks of pear in the middle. Things I would change next time 1. Don't soak the pears so long, I would have wanted them to be a little firmer in the cake itself and not as slimy, 2. Use MORE pears. The natural pears are much smaller so I felt like I didn't use as much. 3. Bake it in a bundt cake pan instead of loaf pans and 4. Sprinkle cinnamon-sugar in the pan before baking to make a super-nice presentation on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
5 star Really easy to make and everyone loves it. Fresh pears from the tree in our yard makes the flavor so good. I also added 1 tablespoon cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debsrolls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wonderful! Everyone loves it have made it twice in 3 weeks time. Only thing i did different was to make cream cheese frosting to add to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I just took this cake out of the oven and thanks to some of the reviews made some changes. I had a little piece, piping hot, and it was great! The base recipe is great, but I knew it would be too sweet for my taste, so I cut way back on both sugars. My pears were so ripe that by simply stirring them, they were close to puree so I didn't bother with that step. The nuts are a nice crunch. I used a 9x13 Pyrex pan and cooked it for 50 minutes ... could have been 45 I think. Also, I cut back the oil to 1/2 cup and sprinkled a little Saigon cinnamon over the top. My pears were small and I think I could have used 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I always have too many pears and this cake is my favorite use for them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Very good, fresh, sweet cake! I left out the nuts (only because I didn't have any on hand). This cake was so sweet it does even require frosting. Wonderful, Simple snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail King Brewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States