Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is soooo good. My daughter loves it and doesn't like pears. Be sure pears are very ripe. The better the pears taste, the better the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Wish grams had a frosting recipe to go with the cake. My family thought it was a delicious way to use up pears. We can't wait to have some for breakfast cold with butter on it. Only thing I would fix is the timing. I baked it for just about an hour and it was a nice golden brown and perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I just finished making this and discovered that for some reason, the number of servings had been adjusted on the recipe to 7 from 14. I am not sure if this is a change made by me (accidentally) or by the originator of this recipe, but there was a little note at the bottom that did indicate that the recipe servings had been changed. That said, baking this in a 13x9 pan was far too big, and would explain why some people have said the cooking time was way too long, and that a loaf pan would have made a better cake. If your number of servings says 7, and you would like to make this in the 13 x 9, adjust the number of servings back up to 14. Otherwise, your cake will be burnt if you cook it for 50 minutes, and the height will be about 1 inch. Better luck next time for me. Tastes fine, I guess, because I took it out after 25 minutes (after noticing all the reviews about reducing the bake time by a lot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this cake without changing any ingredients other than omiting the nuts. I made a double batch in order to use some ripe pears we had from my inlaws pear tree.i made one 9x13 and two 8x8s. Enough for us and a vouple neighbors. I frosted them with a thin buttercream frosting.It does have more of a bread texture but it was delicious! Also the cooking time is much less than the recipe says. I had all three pans in the oven together for 45 minutes and they were perfect. Great recipe! Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made a few modifications. I used 3 pears and 1 apple because that's what I had on hand. I only let the pear/apple mixture sit for around 10 minutes, since my pears were so ripe, they liquified very quickly. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and reduced the oil to 1/3 cup and used 1/2 cup of fat free vanilla yogurt. The cooking time in a 9x13 pan is only 50 minutes,The texture was still very moist and the flavor good. A great way to use over-ripe pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisaminearo
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I substituted sourcream for the oil and put a lemon yogurt glaze on it it is wonderful! Very moist flavorful great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This turned out dry. I only baked it for 50 minutes. Flavor was ok but not remarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Just tried this today. Substituted walnuts for pecans and sprinkled powdered sugar on top. Baking time was just about 50 minutes. I also used "wild" pears that grow on my property. These are smaller and not as sweet or tender as "regular" hybrid/grafted pears. Turned out wonderful! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murtsm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I love this basic recipe! I sliced and chopped the pears and soaked in the sugar about 15 minutes and left whole. I used about 2/3 of the sugar called for. I used self-rising four and omitted the salt and reduced the baking soda to 1 tsp. I added 1/2 c. Of apple juice and baked in a sugared Bundt pan for about 40-45 minutes. Gorgeous and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is a really good cake, and provided a way to use up some pears that I would have probably wasted. They were very firm, but not ripening, so this was an ideal application. I did not puree the fruits and nuts - I sliced the pears right into my food processor, added the sugar and toasted pecans and let them sit for an hour or so, then chopped them with just a few pulses. I also added some cinnamon, and baked this cake in a bundt pan. I used Gail Law's Brown Sugar Sauce (without the brandy) to glaze the cake. It was outstanding. Thanks for saving my pears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States