Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This cake is awesome! It reminds me of an old fashioned cake like my Granny used to make. I used 1 cup of "Smart Balance" oil to make it healthy. It turned out really moist. My hubby and I can't keep away from it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
New, different, great way to use up the over-ripe pears... we used asian pears and everyone was delighted. Nice flavor, delicate but moist. Great with or without a glaze type frosting ( we used a simple lemon/ white sugar glaze) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was delicious. Made in 2 8" round cake pans, did half oil/half applesauce, and frosted with cream cheese frosting. I let the cake sit out on the counter for about a day and a half before icing and serving, and it was incredibly moist. My only complaint would be that it lacked a dominant pear flavor. Next time I will puree more pear and use that instead of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this recipe with a few sligt revisions. I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and subsituted chocolate chips for the pecans. The cake smelled wonderful and was generally good - certainly nice with a cup of tea or coffee. Not sure if I will make again as it has not been a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIZWHITE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Nice! I used 1/4 less of both sugars and oil, used 1/3 whole wheat flour, omitted nuts and cooked it for 15 minutes less. I suppose I wasn't really following the recipe much, but I came out with a delicious cake, akin to banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Yummy cake. My oven runs hot, so the cake was done at 40 minutes. I served it with a simple vanilla frosting and it was great. It is much like banana bread, without the banana flavor of course. I could somewhat feel the texture of pears in the cake, but even though I used pears that were very overripe, you could not really taste the pears. It tasted like a yummy sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I followed lots of advice from other reviewers: no pecans, 2/3 cup smart balance oil, and a powdered sugar & milk frosting (with some mulling spice sprinkled in), made in 2 8" cake pans (cooked FAST in 30 minutes). It's true it does not have a lot of pear taste, but it is still a nice caramel color and is super duper moist and flavorful in its own way. My daughters thought it was made with bananas. They both said it was "awesome". Thank you, we'll definitely make this nice autumn cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used overripe pears and grated them very thinly instead of pureeing them. The pear flavour could have been stronger though. I'll rather use the pears in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace(:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A decent cake, but not long on flavor. I can't taste any pear in it. I checked the cake at 55 minutes and it probably could have used five minutes less. It smelled ever so wonderful while baking, but not worth the time overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
i'm used to making cakes with a hand blender, so to use a spatula to mix (gasp) was a change, but it's nice to go back to basics. the pears puree looks pretty good, my pears were just picked off my pear tree and so they weren't overripe. i substitued 1/2 the oil with apple sauce to cut down on calories and added 1 tsp of cinnimon. when i poured it into the pan it looked a bit liquidy. anyways i baked it and the sides burnt before the middle was cooked. and i had to cook ti for about 1 hour and 5 min to get the middle cooked. the edges and bottom of the cake are pretty charred. despite this it smelled great and tasted pretty good. i had to cut off the edges...but you can't really taste the pear though. and it's hard to cut. it's a nice sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States