Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used a bundt pan and coated it with cinnamon sugar. Next time, I will add more pears (I used four very ripe pears), use less sugar and add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnittingKittens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I was slightly disappointed, but my coworkers loved it. I think the source of my problem with it was that I used sunflower seed oil (the main kind available here in Russia), which to my taste overpowered my gorgeously ripe pears, but the texture was perfectly moist (after a little over an hour in the oven). The only things I changed were to bake in a 10" tube pan (my convection oven bakes those more evenly than 9x13 or a loaf pan), to use five pears, and to add 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. ginger, and 1/4 t. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought this cake was fantastic! I had a few extra pears in the house so I peeled them & cut them into thin slices & layered them into the cake & on the top. It was brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jana
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I doulbed it (had the pears) and did two 9 inch rounds, topped with simple glaze- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I agree with some of the reviews. The cake came out perfectly moist but nobody could tell it was made with pear. I followed the recipe exactly except mine only cooked for 45min and it was perfect. Maybe next time I'll try keeping the pears in pieces instead of blending them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I was very very excited to make this, even waited days until the pears were ripe enough to make the whole house smell great! But I have to say I was pretty disappointed. The cake itself came out perfect, and there was nothing wrong with it, but the taste was very...not what I had expected. I was hoping for a lot more pear taste, and it was so light, it could have been any fruit. It is wonderful in the morning with butter and a hot cup of tea, but I probably will never make this again- at least with pear. I did love soaking the nuts and fruit in the sugars for an hour- that part I WILL keep doing! I did enjoy trying something new- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
10 STARS! This is awesome, make it as it suggests, you can't go wrong. Spices are just right, you could lower the sugar a little bit and add cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was really moist and flavorful...I did change some things to make it healthier...I used 1 cup applesauce instead of oil, and substituted 1 cup of the flour for ground flaxseed...it was so moist, I may try using a mix with wheat flour next time...I made this into muffins for a quick breakfast for my teens...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
WOW, I had a whole bag of pears that were really over ripe. I needed a recipe that kids would like, since I have a day home and they would be eating it for snack. I am SO glad I found this one. I doubled it,(since I had so many pears) and made a few changes. I didn't have pecans, so instead I used a few walnuts. I substituted half the sugar with cane sugar. And for one of the six cups of flour, I used wheat germ and flax seed. I also took the advise of others and cut down the oil. This recipe is a definate keeper. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
So easy and so good! I didn't use nuts because the kids don't like them, but I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. We actually had this with sunday breakfast, nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States