Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was really moist and flavorful...I did change some things to make it healthier...I used 1 cup applesauce instead of oil, and substituted 1 cup of the flour for ground flaxseed...it was so moist, I may try using a mix with wheat flour next time...I made this into muffins for a quick breakfast for my teens...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
WOW, I had a whole bag of pears that were really over ripe. I needed a recipe that kids would like, since I have a day home and they would be eating it for snack. I am SO glad I found this one. I doubled it,(since I had so many pears) and made a few changes. I didn't have pecans, so instead I used a few walnuts. I substituted half the sugar with cane sugar. And for one of the six cups of flour, I used wheat germ and flax seed. I also took the advise of others and cut down the oil. This recipe is a definate keeper. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
So easy and so good! I didn't use nuts because the kids don't like them, but I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. We actually had this with sunday breakfast, nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was a good, moist cake but we couldn't taste the pears. I asked my kids to guess the "secret ingredient" and they guessed bananas. I will make this again whenever I have pears that are not getting eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't blend the pears, just sliced & chopped thin. I used two cups of all-purpose flour & 1 cup of whole wheat flour. (Husband is diabetic) Frosted with 8 ozs. cream cheese, 1 stick butter, softened & creamed.1tsp vanilla, liberal amt. of pecan pieces on top. Refrigerated several hours. Guests asked for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Our family's new fav cake! I used brown sugar only not white. Used macadamia nuts as we didn't have pecans or walnuts. Didn't puree the pears, simply sliced them thin. We used the cream cheese frosting also on this site. Fabulously deeelicious & Perfect combo with tea or for dessert with a cup of steaming latte! Husband took it to work and all the guys wanted a copy of the recipe to take home to their wives...hehe. No one could believe there was pear in the cake :o) Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
The cake was sweet but not too sweet. I didn't have pecans to put on the cake though. I used whole wheat flour instead of the white to make it a little bit healthier. The only change I made to the icing on top was adding some of a left over caramel topping I made for a caramel crunch apple pie.No one could tell if it was pear and not apple. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
All of my coworkers ate it. I should have waited for the pears to ripen a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This was a great cake. Not too sweet. I glad I paid attention as it was well done in my oven at 1 hour....don't overbake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This cake is wonderful and was big hit. The only changes I made were to omit the nuts and I leave the pears chunky. I baked it in a glass pan and it was done in only 50 minutes. It tastes great on it's own, but with a cream cheese frosting it's spectacular. It was moist enough that next time I may take other reviewers suggestions and cut down on the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States