Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
5 star Really easy to make and everyone loves it. Fresh pears from the tree in our yard makes the flavor so good. I also added 1 tablespoon cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debsrolls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wonderful! Everyone loves it have made it twice in 3 weeks time. Only thing i did different was to make cream cheese frosting to add to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I just took this cake out of the oven and thanks to some of the reviews made some changes. I had a little piece, piping hot, and it was great! The base recipe is great, but I knew it would be too sweet for my taste, so I cut way back on both sugars. My pears were so ripe that by simply stirring them, they were close to puree so I didn't bother with that step. The nuts are a nice crunch. I used a 9x13 Pyrex pan and cooked it for 50 minutes ... could have been 45 I think. Also, I cut back the oil to 1/2 cup and sprinkled a little Saigon cinnamon over the top. My pears were small and I think I could have used 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I always have too many pears and this cake is my favorite use for them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Very good, fresh, sweet cake! I left out the nuts (only because I didn't have any on hand). This cake was so sweet it does even require frosting. Wonderful, Simple snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail King Brewer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braidwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I baked the cake for 45 minutes, went to check it, and it is overdone. Plus, very messy batter to make. I would suggest adding the oil, eggs, and vanilla to the puree then adding the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great recipe to play with. I made changes to make it a bit healthier. I used 2cups white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and instead of oil I used 1 cup unsweetened applesause, I added a teaspoon or two of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and and a squeez of lemon, finally I halved the sugars to 1/2cup each and baked it in a bundt pan. Even though I lost track of time and slightly over cooked it, it still tastes great- very moist and flavorful, this would taste really good warm with a scoop of French vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a very good cake and extremely easy to make. I took out the nuts and reduced the oil by 1/4 cup like had been suggested and it was moist and tasty - although a bit boring. I just added a simple caramel glaze, as I think icing would be a bit too heavy. Thanks to grandma for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Great recipe, Rory. Moist, tasty and moreish. I followed the suggestions of: - adding ginger and cinnamon to dry ingredients - forgot to puree the pear mixture but was still fine - only needed to bake for an hour - added thin pear slices to top of cake before baking - used 1/2 C oil and 1/2C apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The batter for this cake was EXTREMELY sweet, so I was worried that it was going to be too much. But the finished product is delicious!! I used 5 VERY ripe pears instead of 4, which allowed me to cut the oil to 1/2 cup and still get a very, very moist cake. I also threw in half a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, just to add a little punch. Great cake -- very original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States