Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Sweet and moist. Good pear flavor-- definitely a good use for those almost too ripe pears. I reduced oil by 1/3 cup and cut the pears into small pieces (didn't puree or blend). Added a bit of cinnamon and some grated ginger as well. Baked in a loaf pan, and did the extra as mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Pureeing the pears made it very blah; recommend chopping up in a fine dice for better texture/pear flavor. Also, I left out some of the oil as per the reviews, and it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I was so happy to use up my older pears I thought I would have to toss. I didn't even have to wait 5 minutes for my sugar/pear mixture to be ready-mine liquified immediately. I baked mine in a bundt pan and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Could be great on second try. I should not have used blender to puree because lost all chunk in the nuts. Cook time for a 13x9 cake pan way too long, at 55 minutes cake was way over cooked and ruined. Next time I'll try bunt pan and start checking at 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very good; only took 50 minutes though to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Double the pears, and cut the sugar in half. It will still be a Fabulously sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Someone else said this should have been made in loaf pans-- I kind of have to agree. It sort of worked as a 'cake', but didn't have the right consistency.. too heavy and wet. Otherwise though it was delicious, and I don't usually like pears that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I've made this twice now, once w/ a simple sugar glaze and once with whipped icing out of the can, both ways this cake is AMAZING! I will not be making it for a while since my new year's resolution is to drop some pounds and when I make this cake I can not stay out of it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was excited to make this cake and waited till my pears were very ripe. The only change I made was that I used 5 pears instead of 4. As others suggested I took the cake out after 50 minutes and the texture was good but I was expecting a delicious cake with a great aroma and was quite surprised and disappointed to find it had barely any scent or taste and did not suggest any resemblance or memory of pear. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States