Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Pureeing the pears made it very blah; recommend chopping up in a fine dice for better texture/pear flavor. Also, I left out some of the oil as per the reviews, and it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I was so happy to use up my older pears I thought I would have to toss. I didn't even have to wait 5 minutes for my sugar/pear mixture to be ready-mine liquified immediately. I baked mine in a bundt pan and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Could be great on second try. I should not have used blender to puree because lost all chunk in the nuts. Cook time for a 13x9 cake pan way too long, at 55 minutes cake was way over cooked and ruined. Next time I'll try bunt pan and start checking at 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very good; only took 50 minutes though to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Double the pears, and cut the sugar in half. It will still be a Fabulously sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Someone else said this should have been made in loaf pans-- I kind of have to agree. It sort of worked as a 'cake', but didn't have the right consistency.. too heavy and wet. Otherwise though it was delicious, and I don't usually like pears that much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I've made this twice now, once w/ a simple sugar glaze and once with whipped icing out of the can, both ways this cake is AMAZING! I will not be making it for a while since my new year's resolution is to drop some pounds and when I make this cake I can not stay out of it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was excited to make this cake and waited till my pears were very ripe. The only change I made was that I used 5 pears instead of 4. As others suggested I took the cake out after 50 minutes and the texture was good but I was expecting a delicious cake with a great aroma and was quite surprised and disappointed to find it had barely any scent or taste and did not suggest any resemblance or memory of pear. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Good cake. The pears I used were very ripe. I didn't put any pecans because I didn't have them around, next time I'll add them. I regret following the reviews because someone recommended to do this in bread loafs because they found the texture to be dense....well, I did that and I divided the batter into 2 bread loaf pans because I was afraid 9x13 might be too much for us and thought to share a loaf with my in-laws but now I wish I didn't. Its definitly not dense like bread but very moist. I also topped it off with the brown sugar glaze on this site. I enjoyed it but my hubby wasn't thrilled with it. Next time i'll do this in a 9x13 pan and add the pecans with no frosting to really give this cake a fair review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States