Fabulously Sweet Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Enjoyed this cake very much! I cut the baking time to 45 minutes and it was perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
A great cake with coffe/tea. Perfect for Mothers and Mothers-in-law!! I did not bake it long enough though. Perhaps 1 hour and 30 minutes would have worked better. I was not crazy about having to take out the food processor to prepare the puree but, the extra effort will not deter me from making it again. I may omit the nuts next time or try walnuts instead (pecans were just a wee more expensive!!) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Moist, delicious and not overly sweet. I eliminated the nuts (due to allergies) and replaced 1 cup of the flour with wheat flour. Also, because this was for a birthday, I used a bundt pan instead of 13x9 for a more special look. It took a little longer to bake (although the blame may rest on my ancient oven which has trouble keeping a stable temp) and had to be covered with foil for the last 15 minutes to prevent burning. The look was completed by sprinkling a bit of powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This is worth the work. I did it almost exactly as it said but added a tsp of cinnimon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissie Brooks
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
A perfectly delicious unique pear cake, just what I was looking for. The aroma alone is wonderful. This recipe will be handed down for generations. I am baking 2 more for my neighbour friends tomorrow. Thanks for sharing Rory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This recipe said to bake the cake for one hour and 15 minutes, when I checked it at 1 hour it was already burnt! The batter looked fabulous so I may try it again and keep a better eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
We really enjoyed this. Flavor of the pears (which were very ripe) really came through. Will definitely save for next fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. I did modify it a little, though. I omitted the nuts, because I wanted to share this with my neighbor and she hates nuts. I cut the pears like I would my apples for apple pie, and I didn't puree them, which was ideal for this cake. You can cut back on the oil by 1/4 cup and it will remain moist. I will continue cutting back on the oil 1/4 cup at a time until I get to a point where I know I need to stop. I did this with my cousin's zucchini bread recipe and I was able to cut it from 1-cup to 1/3 cups. By reducing the oil you can reduce the fat content in this recipe. Also, use "ripe" pears, ones where the skin has started to go from green to yellow. If the pears aren't "ripe" you won't get the full flavor of this deliciously moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
i'm sorry, but this recipe was awful. when i tasted it, "bleh!" came to mind. the taste was terrible. i was really disapointed. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Thank goodness for Grandmas recipes. I use my Grannys whenever I can. This is a GOOD cake and the Best way of using up RIPENING pears. My kids loved it and my neighbors want the recipe. I dont like changing recipes the first time out but I topped with cream cheese icing and subbed WHEAT flour for the all purpose ( I got caught with just a cup or so of A/P and had no choice ). Results were very favorable. THANX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States