Fabulous Wet Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is my recipe. What's up with people who give you bad ratings when they DO NOT follow the recipe? If you don't follow the recipe and "do your own thing" and it's bad, keep your thoughts to yourself, PLEASE! It's not fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This one is a winner! I eliminated the tomatoe soup entirely as there is plenty of great sauce without it. I also used sharp cheddar cheese. In addition, I substituted Kuners refried black beans with lime. They gave it the spicy zip that others felt was lacking. I also prepared the burritos without the lettuce and tomatoe, put them in a 9X13 pan, topped them with the sauce and cheese and baked them at 250 degrees for about 20 minutes until hot and bubbly. Then I served them on a bed of lettuce and topped with tomatoe and greeen onion.This was of restaurant quality when finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Very good and pretty easy to make. I think this is a five star recipe if added to the monthly rotation, but if looking for a special meal, I would give it four stars. Anyways, like many other reviewers I made a few changes. First sauteed small whole onion and 2 cloves of garlic in large skillet. Then added 1 tsp cumin and 3/4 tsp oregano, then added ground beef. After pink was gone from the meat I added the can of refried beans, the green chilies and a can of Rotel. Moved the pan to a cool area and added cilantro. For the sauce I wanted to avoid the "tomatoey" flavor that other reviews tended to dislike so I eliminated the tomato sauce altogether. Instead I mixed two 10 oz cans of enchilada sauce with the one 15 oz can of chili without sauce. To serve, I placed a small amount of the sauce in a 9x13 pan and then rolled the burritos and placed them in the pan, then covered them with the remainder of the sauce and a mixture of medium and sharp cheddar cheese. Baked in a 350 degree oven for about 10-15 minutes. Then covered the top of the pan with shredded lettuce, fresh tomato and green onions. Overall pretty happy with the result. Made 12 and found I needed two 9x13 pans. Family ate 1 pan the first night and the 2nd the next and loved it. Thanks for such an easy recipe... Very nice on a school night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I prepared this recipe for Cinco de Mayo and must say I did not care for this! My family didn't like it either. I don't even have any suggestions as to how it can be inproved, other than , I think the person who submitted it originally and the good reviews for it must be from the East where there aren't many authentic Mexican restaurants and don't know how REAL good Mexican food should taste. Sorry, just didn't like it, but other people may like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
THIS IS A NEW FAVORITE! Although they create quite a mess, they are very easy to make! I always double the recipe and feeze half, I don't use the beans (we're not fans of beans), and I don't use the tomato soup, instead I use an extra can of enchilada sauce for a bit more spice! I baked them instead of microwaved them, I like them a little crispier and I used a little bit more cheese. We also like to garnish with black olives! These have turned out GREAT every time, we will be enjoying these A LOT MORE! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I must say that the recipe does not state "authentic" or "healthy", so why all the angry bad reviews? This is quick and easy, and can use ingredients most people have on hand. And the quality of your ingredients is the key. You have to choose an enchilada sauce that you already know is good, a lot of cheap enchilada sauce is bitter, which will make this terrible. It is common sense, and if you are like me, you will know right away by reading the recipe if this is something healthy. People need to quit being so mean! This is a wet burrito recipe for goodness sake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
These were the best burritos my husband and I have ever had. Even better than my favorite maxican resaurant. I substituted the tomato soup for 1/2 cup of salsa to add a little more spice to the sauce and I made my own guacamole. I also baked this dish at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes without anything on top of the buriitos except cheese and green onions. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Very good recipe! I made these the night before and put in a 9x13 greased pan, added a little cheese inside before rolling up. Added a little extra cumin and used only 1/2 can of refried beans. Put the sauce on the next day right before baking. Baked @ 350 for about 45 minutes, then added cheese on top and baked a little longer. Served with chopped tomatoes, lettuce, and sour cream. Husband and company loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These are sooo good. I followed the recipe exactly.....the only thing I had to change was the tomatoe soup...I didn't have any so I just sub. with a can of rotel. Turned out perfect! I will be making this again...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This recipe is destined for the hall of fame! What a delicious and easy meal this was, the whole family loved it. The only changes I made were to leave out the green chilies and serve them on the side so everyone could adjust the heat to their liking. Also, I made all of the burritos, placed them in a large baking pan, and spooned the sauce and cheese over them. Then I put them in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes to melt the cheese. I can't say enough good things about this recipe. I only used about half of the sauce (and I didn't skimp), so I saved the remainder for the next time I make this dish. I can guarantee it will be soon! Thanks a bunch, Sydney!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States