Fabulous Oatmeal-Bran Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Absolutely healthy,divine,moist My few modifications Didn't use that amount oil,instead 1/2 fat free yoghurt + 1T butter Also added 1 cup carrot pulp Added handful almonds,mayb les.. Reduced sugar to only 1cup Brown.. Mayb wil add few dates next time.. Also next batch wil substitute flour wid brown..A definite must make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferozanisa Essack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I needed a whole grain muffin recipe in which I could embellish. I used 5 grain rolled flakes for the rolled oats, Hodgson Mills Oat bran hot cereal and added apple pieces and frozen blackberries to the batter. Also increased the cinnamon, added allspice and vanilla to taste. Subbed Splenda for the white sugar (less 1/4 cup from recipe). Baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Nummy! Makes 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
these are very good for a healhy muffins . i made them as stated but used half a cup of vanilla yogurt abd two tbsp of oil in place of the margarine. added shredded apple n pear , tsp of vanilla also turned out great and all three kids loved them. this is my healthy muffin recipe forsure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Van Roie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very quick and easy, substituted butter for shortening added 1 cup of raisins and baked as muffins. My husband even liked them.This is a great breakfast muffin. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I'm at that age, you know, gotta have fiber, and also have a sweet tooth. This recipe does both. I was skeptical that anything that's good for me can also taste REALLY good. This does! I used All-Bran Buds. I reduced each sugar by 1/4 cup and used unsweetened applesauce in place of the shortening. I also added 1/8 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/4 cup of raisins. I put half in my 8x8 pan and split the rest in 2 - 8x4 loaf pans. I checked doness with toothpicks, around 25-30 minutes. EXCEPTIONAL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I have never rated a recipe before... but this was too good not to rate. The only thing that I did was add some wheat germ to make it a little bit healthier. It was great though. Even my husband liked it and he's picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is such an easy recipe! I found all the ingredients in my very poorly stocked kitchen, and added a few spices to suit my taste. Since it's just me and the boyfriend over here, I scaled down to 12 muffins, and added 1/4 tsps of nutmeg, allspice, and vanilla extract. I also used unsweetened instant oatmeal, because that's all I had on hand. To try to make up the texture deficit from using softer oats, I added sliced almond and raisins from my breakfast-cereal topping stash. Excellently tasty! I just really recommend spicing up with whatever you have on hand... Otherwise these could get a little TOO simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bird
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I would really give this 4.5 stars if I could...It's super moist but just too sweet for me. That's an easy fix, though, so I will probably make these again. I added a chopped up pear to the batter, and made muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Fantastic! Made it into muffins, added nutmeg, vanilla, raisins, and some pecans. Next time I'd try it w/ shredded apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Excellent, we all enjoyed it, I am going to make it for the tenants were I work today. Thanks. Marla-j
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States