Fabulous Homemade Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
5 stars for ease in creating this fabulous sandwich bread. I cut the recipe down to make two loaves. The second rising took about twice as long - 2 hours - as noted in the recipe, but patience was all that was needed to get a nice rise. I usually make crusty Italian loaves or rustic breads so this is a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wonderful! Easy & healthy. Made only 24 servings, 2 small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I would be sure to freeze some of this bread. I really don't understand the problem with 6 loaves if you have a freezer. Just makes your life a little easier. I love freshly made bread. The store stuff just turns me off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Mckenzie Seiber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The bread rose great the first time, but on the second rise it would not rise above the pans. I let it rise for 2 hours instead of 1 and then baked. Surprisingly it wasn't dense. The flavor and texture were good but the tops stayed kind of flat looking like they hadn't risen all the way. Probably wont make this recipe again, but it wasn't horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Blais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe too with good old fashioned elbow grease too. ?? I only baked it for about 20 minutes and I always brush the tops with margarine or butter, whatever on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
So easy,so good! I'll Use this recipe for the rest of my life. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenna Weinstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I love this bread! I messed up the recipe and it still turned out great. I misread the steps and used all white sugar instead of brown and then just added some honey to compensate for it. I was nervous about having six loaves of bad bread but it turned out amazing and my family loved it! It was also incredibly easy considering I didn't use an electric mixer or a bread machine and I've never made bread before. thanks for this recipe, way better than store bought bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaila Schumacher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Love this recipe. I made it exactly like the original recipe the first time and it was good but sweeter then I wanted for sandwiches, so the second time I made it I only used 1 tbsp & 1 tsp of the brown sugar and left the white sugar out completely and it was perfect. I minimize the recipe to only make 2 loaves at a time though. The only other thing for me was the rise time in loaf pans is longer then 1 hour to get bread as high as I wanted. Overall I love this recipe and it's my new go to recipe when making homemade bread. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This bread is great. I halved the recipe and it still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States