Fabulous Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was good, but nothing exciting. I did leave out the celery because of other reviews. I also couldn't find nectarines, so I left those out. Maybe nectarines would have made it more exciting. I doubled the recipe because I was feeding 10 people, and there were a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Refrigerate it before serving! I wasn't crazy about this recipe until I happened to put it in the fridge overnight. Completely chilled, it was definitely the way to go. Unless you're a huge celery lover, don't include it; the taste of it throws it off. Add sliced almonds to chopped walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I wasn't sure about this at first, but the more I ate the more I wanted to eat. I didn't really like the nuts in it though... maybe another substitue would be better....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! I used pecans instead of walnuts (because that's what I had on hand). Either would work fine. The celery is a must. I'm not sure why so many of the other reviews left it out. Some of the reviews also suggested replacing the nectarines with oranges. I suggest if you can't get nectarines use peaches, because of their similar texture and flavor. My 3 year old loves it... but then again her favorite flavor of yogurt is lemon. I'm sure I will be making this salad many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yanceyville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was a decent but not fabulous fruit salad. I left the celery out because it seemed odd to me and I didn't have any on hand. I like the idea of using yogurt as a dressing, it would work with any combination of fruits. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This recipe was quite good. While it appears to need to be doubled, a single batch of it was plenty. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
So I was skeptical about the celery, and made half the batch without. I'm not sure if I was absolutely crazy about it, but it certainly didn't make me think 'bleh' either. I wish I had also added some grapes. This was pretty good. Thanks, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I loved this and it was so easy to make. I to substituted red grapes for the celery and used pecans instead of walnuts. This doesn't keep well, it was real runny by the end of the next day. Maybe next time I will wait and add the yogurt right before I eat it. Its such a simple recipe and a great way to add fruit in your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Served it at a baby shower and everyone raved about it. I added strawberries, bananas, and grapes, and left out the celery. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and vanilla yogurt instead. I will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I cannot get enough of this. I used grapes instead of nectarines, but can't wait for nectarines to come into season to try it with them. Recently I took it to a pot luck, and printed off four copies of it just in case I was asked for the recipe. I should have taken six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States