Fabulous Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Not sure if I did something wrong, but I wasn't wowed by this. Used pears, mandarin oranges, green grapes and pecans instead of nectarines, celery, and walnuts. I also used french vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I went with key lime yogurt (also make it with berry, but haven't tasted it yet), added green grapes, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone loved it and it was nice not to have plain fruit salad again. Great fruit salad and it's still healthy. The celery gives it great texture. I added cranberries, nuts and oranges about an hour before I served it. Adding apples straight to yogurt did stop them from turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Hmmm. I didn't find this "fabulous" at all.... Other than being a new twist on the basic waldorf salad, this wasn't all that different from any other fruit salad I've tried. Reviewers comments about how the lemon yogurt added a nice creaminess and subtle, complementary flavor persuaded me to try this. In retrospect, I wish I would have gone with my gut and prepared an ambrosia salad to serve with Easter brunch as originally planned. The yogurt was the very thing I didn't like about this. It gave my salad a "pasty" texture I just couldn't get past. Other than subbing Greek-style yogurt (I feared a soupy mess collecting at the bottom of my salad bowl otherwise), I followed Tracy's directions to the letter. To my dismay, using Greek yogurt made no difference whatsoever and was a total waste of the extra $'s spent. My verdict? There are much better recipes on this site. I will not reattempt this one. Sorry! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Delicious! And so easy! The only thing I might change next time would be to cut back on the walnuts a little bit. I couldn't find lemon yogurt so I used strawberry and vanilla yogurt (since I doubled the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Camensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this fruit salad for work and everybody absolutely loved it. Thank you. Great taste & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Awesome. Will make again. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Without the celery, this was perfect. Because we don't like walnuts, I used pecans instead. Really great fruit salad that we all enjoyed and left nothing behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Made this for a grange supper and it was really good added extra yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I have made this several times - and I always get requests for it. I made a few changes to it. I use the Yoplait Lite Key Lime Yogurt (this was a suggestion by a review posted back in 2005). I omit the celery, add bananas. Nectarines are hard to find, so instead I use mandarin oranges and sprinkle a little bit of coconut. For cranberries, you can get the CranRaisins (available usually in the cookies/granola bar aisle). It is yummy and makes a very decorative appearance. I put it in a crystal candy dish (which is quite large) and it always delights the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made this fruit salad for a recent party and it was very good. This is a dish that should be eaten as soon as possible after being put together and I do not recommend making more than can be eaten within a 48 hour period, fruit is not cheap and a shame to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States