Fabulous Frosted French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this with Cinnamon raisin bread. Used full fat sour cream & cream cheese, omitted the whipped topping and 2% milk. My boyfriend LOVED it!!! Soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Too much sugar for our taste. My family prefer the French Toasts with dill instead sugar, a kick of carry also works good. With the topping made from harring roe and some butter such toasts can be even a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Great recipe to add into my weekend breakfast repertoire. I made this recipe exactly as written but used the full fat version of all ingredients. We then topped it multiple different ways to see which ways we liked it served. My personal favorite was the simplest version- with powdered sugar sifted on top the french toast. The flavor of the cinnamon french toast is superb alone and the powdered sugar compliments it beautifully by adding just a touch of sweetness. My husband preferred his with both the cream/sour cream topping and powdered sugar sifted on top. We both disliked the version of adding pure maple syrup which was turned out way too sweet. Also our version adding fresh strawberries (or any fruit in season) was also a welcome twist on the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe. I can't wait to try this recipe on guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Whenever I make french toast I leave the bread out overnight otherwise it comes out too "mushy." Also it's great with just powdered sugar over the top no syrup.. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was amazing!!! I did not make the frosting but the French toast was very good! I cut everything in half and it still turned out very good. I couldn't find French toast so I used brownberry Dutch county butter split top bread. I made 4 actual pieces and I had some of the batter still left over. Prob enough left over for 2 more pieces...yay breakfast for tomorrow:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Perfect. used sliced bread as I did not have french and added strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Super easy, and the 'frosting' was SO yummy! We had friends over for breakfast and made these, they raved about the cream cheese topping. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Mmmmmm....delicious! It's great even without the cream cheese topping - my husband just used butter & powdered sugar, I had a bite of his and it was great! Best French Toast Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Didn't use the frosting but the toast was good. I halved the recipe for less servings and it worked great. In the future I will sprinkle the cinnamon over the bread while cooking through, it clumped up in the cool egg and milk mixture instead of mixing thoroughly even with a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Naivar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoohoo

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States