Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Crunchy on the outside,soft on the inside. Flavor was a little bland first time around. Increased the salt with the second batch. Everyone enjoyed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
These loaves baked up beautifully- nice and golden. I didn't have cornmeal, but I dusted the baking pans with a tiny bit of flour, and they turned out fine. The texture turned out perfect- crusty on the outside, fluffy and soft on the inside. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for; will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
After spending 2 weeks in France and coming back home, I was dying for some good French bread...this recipe is great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Soooo good! Even family members who are not bread lovers loved this!!! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Delicious, great for bread & butter, or for dips! However, as I was reading the reviews, I noticed that Liz, who submitted the recipe, gave the proper direction as to how she prepares this recipe (about 9 reviews below this one). I'm confused Liz, as to why you would go through all of the trouble killing your arm, not to mention taking over an hour of stirring vigorously when you could simply knead it for the 8 minutes, let it rise for the hour & be done! I prepared this recipe as directed on the site & it came out beautiful! By the way, I added the 2 cups of water in step 1. Thanks Liz :), & thanks allrecipes for the modification!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
The name of this was right on the money! FABULOUS!!!!!!!!! Thanks!!!! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
Makes really good french bread. My dad especially liked this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Awesome, it's better then store bought. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This is one of the best recipes I have found. It was easy to make with a dough hook. My family loved it so much that I made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This is the best bread I've ever made. One thing some many may find helpful is to use "Best for Bread" flour, which I did, and which made the bread rise much higher than past attempts (but with other recipes). My bread was better than the bakeshop. I mean that. I've come back to add to my review: I used olive oil and made a pizza crust with this. It's better than Jay's Signature Crust! 500 degree oven to cook it on pizza stone after letting rize on the stone a bit. Best pizza I ever made by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States