Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Fabulous is the perfect word to describe this! First of all, this was my first time making french bread and this was the easiest dough I've ever dealt with! For the first time I didn't have to add more flour. I found the recipe to be perfect as is except for the cooking time. This may be because I only had one loaf in the oven, rather than two, but I took mine out at 25 minutes and it was already on its way to being slightly overdone (saved it in the knick of time!). So keep an eye on it, especially if you half the recipe. But other than that, it was perfect, especially the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
LIke everyone else, sooo goood! I ise the dough hook on my kitchen aid mixer on low for 6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I've passed this recipe onto many friends. Turns out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Junction City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Yay! I made this bread to go with a pasta dish for dinner and it was very easy to put together. I did have to add a bit more flour in order to handle the dough. Perhaps because I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour. Whatever, the bread turned out beautifully, was delicious dipped in homemade Italian dressing and received rave reviews from my husband. Made my meal even more special. :c) Thanks Liz, I won't be spending any more money at the grocery store bakery for French bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Always a pleaser. Have been using this recipe for years and just haven't gotten around to reviewing. My Kitchen Aid Mixer broke, so I've been using a half recipe in the food processor. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have been trying different breads lately and this is the first that has come out light and not heavy as a rock. The recipe is very easy and could have easily given me 3 loafs of bread. I used honey in place of sugar and olive oil instead of veggie oil. This was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I always thought making bread was difficult. Not anymore! I even used all purpose flour and it turned out pretty good. I used half of the ingredients and it was no sweat. We will make it every week, if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandi
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
First time making french bread and it turned out fantastic!!!!!! Followed recipe exactly. Will be making it often. I have just made it again for the second time but this time made individual loaves for bread bowls to see if it would work, happy to say they turned out even better than the big loaves! Will be making "Super Soup Bowls" for Super Bowl Sunday!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Thank you!! First time I made anything with yeast, was very nervous. The recipe was very easy and the loaves came out great! Perfect on the outside and inside. Big Hit w/ the kids. Made pizza bread for them and they loved it. Going to try this as a pizza crust, will let you know how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Make sure loaves cool completely; if put away slightly warm, the nice crust texture is ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States