Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Crusty outside & soft squishy inside - perfect! Such an easy recipe too, with delicious results! Well done Liz, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I've tried multiple bread recipes, but this one is by far my favorite! It has a nice crust and a perfect crumb- chewy yet tender. It slices easily without falling apart. I make a really taste variation where I use extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and add in a glove of garlic (mashed with some salt to make a fine paste) and 7-8 basil leaves torn into small pieces. I also brushed the loaves with a little more olive oil before baking. Not only does the final product look great, it tastes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Easy bread...and tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This french bread was amazing! Much lighter than many other recipes I tried. I will try adding spices next time to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Yammy - this is a great recipe. The Bread tastes sooooo good, you can use it for so many things as side dish BBQ, Breakfast, ...... or make it as a coffecake if you use butter instead oil and fill it with Nut filling... LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Rescue, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Turned out fantastic! ... But I halved the recipe, put the sugar in the yeast to proof (seems always turns out better this way), kneaded in my KitchenAid, and brushed the dough with olive oil & melted butter, minced garlic and herbs de'Provence before rolling. Also skipped the cornmeal and baked on floured parchment paper instead, and had to lower the temp 25 and use 2 baking sheets b/c my new oven is so "efficient."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I make this all the time and it's a household favorite. I have to halve the recipe to use my Kitchenaid stand mixer to knead the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
So good..my favorite french bread recipe and the dough is a dream to work with. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Not too difficult, very tasty. I ended up making three loaves because I wanted them to be a little skinnier for subs. The third loaf I spread butter and olive oil with herbs and garlic before I rolled the loaf. It turned out fantastic. The leftover plain bread made excellent French toast a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is the 2nd time that I have made this bread. I could not ask for anything better. I love this bread. It is easy to make. It rises beautifully, and I have added several flavors to the bread. The first time I made it I did the first loaf just as french bread. I did the second loaf as cheddar cheese and jalapeno. The second time, (see photo). I did the first loaf as rolls. I made six rolls. The second loaf I did mixing in chopped sun dried tomatoes and chunks of mozzarella cheese. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States