Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by dbertoni
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I cut this recipe in half, since we didn't need that much bread and it turned out perfect. I only had all purpose flour on hand, so I used that. I also was able to make two small loaves instead of one long one and only had to cook it for 20 mins. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe!! It was easy to make and tasted fantastic!! I did add a little more flour than it asked for but that is because it was too sticky. Sometimes the humidity in the air can make your bread dough fluctuate like that. Other than that I didn't make any changes. My husband was sure sad he missed out on this dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This came out great! The flavor was nice and the loaves came out soft on the inside and crisp on the outside. I did add some honey to the dough and spread honey on the loaves and sprinkled with sesame seeds before baking it. Beautiful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was the first time I have ever made a bread like this and I found the directions really easy to follow. I did put both loaves onto one pan which was a mistake. At least for the size I made mine. They ended up rising so they were touching each other and cooked that way. All I had to do was cut them apart and they still tasted amazing. The crust was so crunchy and perfect! Next time I think I will make them into smaller loaves or lots of little ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMama8710

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious bread, had a great texture and flavor. I even added in a tablespoon of garlic powder while it was still mixing (I LOVE garlic) which gave it a great flavor. I will make one comment about my experience with the recipe: I made four small loaves instead of two regular loaves, because I wanted to be able to give a couple away. Now, it may just be my oven (it tends to heat hotter than labeled), but even after I adjusted for the mislabeled temp and the smaller loaves, my loaves were browned and nearly baked within 15 minutes. I had to turn the oven down to about 350 and let them bake for another 8 mins or so because I wanted to be sure the inside was done. At the end of all of that, it had the perfect texture & flavor, so I guess next time I'll crank the temp down a bit more so they don't brown too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Too much kneading, need to leave the bread alone after you have kneaded it after first rise, after adding all the ingredients. Then directly into the oven. Or else the bread gets waay to heavy. Almost inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ohsode
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
this is a really good recipe! I used it to make cinnamon raisin bread. It stayed soft for a long time and tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very nice-tasting, soft bread. Not anything like French bread, however; closer to a supermarket Italian loaf. That said, very quick and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Once it got too hard to mix I floured my hands and used my hands to "stir". Only needed 5.5 cups of flour- divided evenly between whole wheat flour and all-purpose flour; it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This Bread lives up to Its name!!! Omg! Fabulous! Nice an crusty Soft an chewey in the center I did have to add way more flour then the Recipe called for Excellent Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States