Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe really is fabulous! Love the taste, texture, aroma, crust--everything! I subbed honey for the sugar and EVOO for the vegetable oil, and I didn't use the egg wash or sesame seeds. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
The name says it all "fabulous". The loaf comes out just like the fresh baguette they sell here daily at the major chain grocery. Didn't know it was possible to make it myself at home. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.j.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
The best recipe for french bread!!! My loaves didn't look sloppy like in the pictures posted. The were perfect! Looked like a store-bought bread, but tasted way better. I followed the recipe to a T. The 2 loves were gone in 2 days! Love it and I am going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASHA JOHNSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I've made these twice so far. They are great and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
this is bread, and it isn't bad, but it's nothing special and doesn't seem much like traditional french bread. i won't make this again, i think i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Excellent flavor and texture! As other reviewers suggested, I misted the oven a few times during baking. It's a little higher in fat than other recipes, but the flavor is rich and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
All I really have to say is mmmmm... After reading the reviews here, I added 1 extra teaspoon of salt and put a pan of ice cubes on the bottom rack to mist the bread. I did do the egg wash, but I did half egg whites with half milk, as I like a bit more of a tender crust. I also brushed the loaf with melted butter half way through baking, which made for great flavor and beautiful browning. Check on this bread after about 20 minutes in the oven, because mine was completely done after 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
My husband LOVES fresh bread and this surely did NOT disappoint. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this bread yesterday. the consistancy of the bread was great, tasted good with butter. The only change I would make is adding more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
this bread is okay, but it's more like grocery store italian bread. when i think of "french bread" i think of crusty, chewy french baguettes, and this bread is not that. still okay, my six-year old likes it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States