Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I tried this recipe because it's a little quicker than my standby French bread recipe. But I am sad at the outcome of this recipe; it just didn't work for me. I didn't get the rise I expected; the dough spread and looked more like foccacia (and yes, my yeast was fresh). The flavor was very good, the crust was beautiful. If I should ever try this again, I think instead of making two loaves, I'll make 4, and make them narrower. To make steam for a crustier crust, I heated a cast iron skillet on a lower rack while preheating my oven. When it was ready, I put in the dough and then added ice cubes into the skillet. Voila! Steam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
So awesome! I've made these twice now! The first time i thought they had an oily taste, but my hubby didn't think so. The second time, I didn't taste it, so maybe it was just me! Anyway, really good bread. I personally think that french bread should have a crustier crust, but that's just my preference. Overall, it's most definitely worth making. I'm about to go make it for the 3rd time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI DIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was good but not my favorite from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Intisar
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This came out wonderfully. I cut the recipe in half, and still got 2 decent size loaves. On one I added Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese on top, before sticking in the oven. My husband loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Intisar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
WONDERFUL and easy. This was my first shot at French bread and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Smith Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is a terrific recipe and even easier when I mixed it in my bread machine. I followed the rolling out instructions on a cornmeal sprinkled baking sheet. Before baking, I misted the loaves with water for a crispy crust. I omitted the egg wash and sesame seeds. For an even crispier crust, when preheating the oven, I placed a cake pan half full of hot water on the bottom rack. When the oven was preheated, I popped in the bread and baked it normally. The crust was absolutely perfect if you like a soft center and a hard crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I was so excited to make this after all the great reviews. I followed the recipe, but increased the salt as suggested by other bakers. My bread turned out too salty - but aside from that it was very dense, and not at all tender as some had described. I don't know what I did wrong :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
DELICOUS!!!!! i as well added a little extra salt, due to the other ratings and comments. This is the second home-made bread i have ever made. This one turned out WAY BETTER then the first one!!!! I was a little afraid to try this, but im glad that i did! I will definatly be making this again. Thanx a BUNCH for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
It was excellent, didn't even last 1/2 hour with my family. Just threw everything into breadmaker machine and baked in oven. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It is not the recipe's fault if you come out with non-chewy crusted bread! To achieve the same effect, toss 4-5 ice cubes in the bottom of the oven every 10-15 minutes. The steam creates that crust you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States