Fabulous French Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe. If I had more time each weekend, I'd never buy bread again. I ended up making the 2 loaves and coated one with sesame and salt, and the other with garlic powder. I'm looking forward to adding different herbs to the mix in the future. Update: I've made several loaves and one thing I've learned is when letting the dough rise, put it in the oven with a cup of boiling water. This creates an ideal warm and humid environment. Another great tip is to premix any dry ingredients in with the flour ahead of time. Lately, I've taken 1 or 2 tbsp of rosemary and garlic powder and added it to the flour ahead of time. Next on my list - shredded asiago cheese....i love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was a beautiful, economical bread to make and it impressed my guests to the MAX! It was so easy to make and so scrumptious we devoured one whole loaf, hot out of the oven with real butter, and almost forgot about the rest of the meal! I should say that I added 1 tsp sugar to the yeast and water mixture to begin with (because I've never heard of making bread with only yeast and water - I've always put in a bit of sugar to get the yeast started), and I had no cornmeal and no sesame seeds, but the bread was still wonderful: very crunchy crust and very lovely texture on the inside. It made two quite large loaves - beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Ok, I'm a believer! I have never made bread before-but due to insomnia have been using the creative outlet of cooking help ease stress (believe it or not)--I have "always" wanted to try to make bread--this bread was so easy to make AND delicious! It even looks like I'd made it before! My family was thrilled. I served it sliced with butter with a homemade lasagna dinner and salad. I followed the directions with no issues or problems and it came out perfect--1st try! these loaves served my family of 6 with enough leftover to make papa a couple french bread sandwiches for lunch to work the next day!! YUM!! thanks Liz--This rocks! It is a KEEPER! Madeleine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine Santiago Peterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I halved this and made it in my bread machine (because im lazy!!). I added a clove of garlic after reading other reviews. I found the crust very crispy. The bread inside the crust was very light and fluffy. Definitely a winner here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I halved this recipe and made in my bread maker. The inside was wonderful---great flavor, great texture! My only complaint might be that the crust was really, really tough. But that could be my bread maker, and the recipe wasn't meant for a bread machine so I have to be fair and give 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Everyone always asks me to make "my" bread... they love this recipe. I made it once for a party and my step father tried to swipe the loaf and replace it with a supermarket loaf so he could keep it for himself! Haha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Absolutely the BEST recipe for bread I have made.....loaves came out perfect...crunchy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside! I used more sesame seeds, we love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was a bakery style French bread, if you steamed your oven (I put ice cubes in a cast iron skillet). Very crusty and good flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I tried this recipe because it's a little quicker than my standby French bread recipe. But I am sad at the outcome of this recipe; it just didn't work for me. I didn't get the rise I expected; the dough spread and looked more like foccacia (and yes, my yeast was fresh). The flavor was very good, the crust was beautiful. If I should ever try this again, I think instead of making two loaves, I'll make 4, and make them narrower. To make steam for a crustier crust, I heated a cast iron skillet on a lower rack while preheating my oven. When it was ready, I put in the dough and then added ice cubes into the skillet. Voila! Steam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States