Fabulous Football Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I have been making this dip for a while and it is always a hit. I do it a little different though. I use a pound of breakfast sausage that comes in the tube. I fry it but leave the grease on it. The I put one brick of cream cheese and one can of original Rotel tomatoes in my dip crock pot and add the sausage. I let it sit for at least an hour before serving. AWESOME with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
A great alternative to the normal queso! I made some modifications that really made this an awesome dip according to all the guests at our halloween party! I used the HOT Jimmy Dean Sausage, added more Rotel and then, after it had cooled to "warm", I stirred in some shredded cheddar cheese (more than "warm" will melt it all) and then topped it off with more shredded cheese ~ this also dresses it up as it is not a very colorful appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
OK I made this for the Super Bowl and feel compelled to add my 2 cents. This recipe by itself looked really bland so I added an extra can of Rotel, a chopped up fresh jalapeño pepper and used Jimmy Dean hot sausage. The recipe does look unappetizing when being made BUT, this was easily remedied. Just add some of that 5 year old turmeric you got in your spice cabinet (adds color but not much flavor since it is so old) and of course some shredded cheddar cheese to it. Voila nice orange cheese dip that doesn’t use any of that fake cheese food product stuff! Never mind that pure cheese isn’t really orange but it did make it look a lot more appetizing. After adding the extras this dip was great and everyone loved it. Because of the changes that needed to be made I rate it 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
this was a really good dip. Made this to a T, and it was simple and really quick to make. I used mild sausage mix and a mild can of diced tomatoes and chilies. It was really good and creamy. I could see using a hotter sausage mix in this recipe for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The base is a good place to start. We just arn't crazy about a meat based dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ark67tiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I wish I would've READ MORE REVIEWS of this before making it. It WAS VERY THICK and kinda BLAH. So, I fixed it...this is what I did: Added MORE green chiles/rotel and even jalapenos. I also added a few green onions, some shredded mexican blend cheese and a wee bit of milk to thin it down. Hubby LOVED it. I think by the time I was finished "messing" with it, I was tired of it and couldn't make a fair judgment on the taste of it ~ LOL ~ NEXT time, I'll use HOT sausage and HOT Rotel. Will be making again (since hubby loved it)...I was looking for something a little different for football game, and this did the trick :) Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mai
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My family has been making this dip for years--we absolutely love it! We always use HOT Jimmy Dean sausage and HOT Rotel for the kick. Another suggestion, especially for game day: Brown the meat, then toss all of the ingredients into a crockpot. On LOW, it will melt through in four hours, and the dip stays hot for the whole game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made this for my monday night football fans in the house and it went over alright. I'm glad I added the cheese per a previous reviewer cuz it was still bland, even with its addition. If I were to make this again, I would use hot Italian sausage and possible additional chile peppers and more cheese. However, there are many more dips that are much more "fabulous" than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
this dip was okay but if im making a sausage dip i will use another recipe i found on allrecipes.com(beefy cheese dip)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good dipnot too spicy just enough to give it sme zip. Went over well at football party on New Years Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rileysdad1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States