Fabulous Football Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I used a mild sausage in this recipe because I made it for the kids after school snack. I halved the recipe, pureed the tomatoes (no chunks) and had to add some dried seasonings for flavor. I added garlic and onion powder and chili powder. This is a great tasting dip..don't think *fabulous*, but it's definitely does not look tasty. Thankfully, I was able to talk my kids into tasting it after seeing it. They did fight over the last bit! I served with corn tortilla chips (recipe from this site) and pita triangles. Will make again with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I have been making this dip for years. Every time I make it, I always get requests for the recipe. Jimmy Dean sausage and Rotel tomatoes work the best. This recipe is great the way it is. No additions needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Perfect for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made this for Super Bowl, also using an extra can of Rotel, plus a chopped up jalapeno and some shredded cheddar. I used hot italian sausage that I sliced out of the casing and crumbled/browned. It was amazing. So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe was great!! I used Italian sausage, and added crushed red pepper, oregano, and 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese. I browned the meat and then cooked it in the crock pot on low. Everyone loved it!! Will definately make this again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Like other reviewers, I wanted a break from the old Velveeta queso dip. I used the hot sausage and since it was thick, I added an extra can of tomatoes (which also gave it more color). We enjoyed it with Tostitos Scoops, and when we ran out- Wheat Thins and baked pita chips. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Velika Majka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe is a potluck staple... very good. I have made for years. I always use 1/2 hot sausage, 1/2 mild when serving to coworkers. I like to mix in a jar of salsa and garnish with fresh chopped tomatoes and jalapenos on the side !!! I prefer it to the old version with velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyclchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I've been making this dip for at least 12 years. Sooooo good, but I use 1 lb ground sausage, 2 cans Rotel & 3 blocks cream cheese. Literally every time someone new tries it they want the recipe! So easy & so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer St John Seymour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have used this dip in the past and the only change I made was to add about 6 oz. of velveeta cheese. I browned the sausage, transferred it to my 1.5 qt slow cooker, added the rest of the ingredients and switched it to low, stirring often. Be careful it burns easily (I turned it off and on a few times to maintain warm temperature). My family and I didn't think it was bland at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisakay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Delmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Always a crowd pleaser. I serve in a mini slo cooker to keep warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

See how to make a creamy, bacony dip shaped like a football.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States